跳到內容

通過寫時復制進行更新

介紹

“寫時復制”是一種在計算中的各種應用中使用的技術。 RDM在幾個領域中都使用了此技術。在深入研究RDM之前,讓我們看一下一般情況。

 

寫時復制背後的主要思想是複制一些內容,然後修改副本,而不是在寫入內存,文件或塊設備時修改原始內容。這就是術語“寫時復制”的來源。某些應用程序是在函數式編程中結合“引用計數”進行寫時復制的。在Unix中,在有一些硬件幫助的情況下,分叉系統調用的實現中使用寫時復制來共享虛擬內存。 Linux中的Btrfs文件系統使用寫時復制功能來進行有效的事務處理和快照隔離。虛擬機管理程序和虛擬機實現也可以使用此技術進行有效的內存管理。

 

在RDM中,我們將這種技術用於嵌套事務。但是,本文重點介紹在RDM 15.0中實現的數據庫文件格式。首先,讓我們看一下RDM的早期版本。


先前版本的RDM

RDMe 12.0和更早版本(“ RDMe”)使用了事務日誌。這意味著數據通常被寫入兩次-首先寫入事務日誌,然後寫入實際的數據庫文件。 RDMe還存儲了固定長度的項目,在某些情況下,其他內容必須單獨存儲在其他位置。這種設計導致浪費的空間,在必須拆分內容時會產生額外的開銷,並且通常不太靈活。由於記錄的長度固定,因此對數據進行任何類型的壓縮也沒有用。

 

為了減輕這些問題,RDM 14.0使用“寫時復制”更新了可變大小的記錄。數據庫文件被拆分為我們所謂的“打包文件”。總是通過“寫時復制”來完成軟件包的更新。但是,RDM 14.0並未進行完整的遞歸“寫入時復制”。取而代之的是,每當內容從數據包中的一個位置移動到另一個位置時,它都依賴於鍵值存儲(ID索引)。

 

這種設計有其自身的問題。 ID索引跟踪未使用的空間。這種跟踪和有效利用未使用空間所需的數據結構非常昂貴。與批量寫入結合使用時,它還防止了空間的重用。 I / O性能也遠非最佳,因為只有一部分頁面被更新時,數據才被寫入頁面。 

 

此設計還需要ID索引的事務日誌,該日誌已集成到RDM 14.1包中。刷新ID索引也相對昂貴,這可能會導致數據庫打開和關閉速度變慢。這些問題使該設計不適用於像 REST API,它依賴於為每個單個請求打開和關閉數據庫。

 

RDM 14.2採用的方法與RDM 14.1略有不同。在以下部分中,我們將主要討論15.0設計,該設計與14.2設計具有許多共同的特徵,以及與14.1設計具有一些共同的特徵。


RDM 15.0

兩項原則

RDM 15.0建立在兩個原則上。

 

我們所依賴的第一個原則是完全遞歸的“寫時復制”。這意味著RDM 15.0中使用的持久性數據結構是一棵樹(或一棵樹,取決於抽象級別),而沒有使用ID索引。使用了兩種樹結構:B樹和R樹。數據庫將為模式中定義的每個鍵都有一棵樹,但是還需要其他樹。其詳細信息超出了本文的範圍。在結束本討論時,我們提到要將所有這些樹綁在一起,還有一個主樹,它引用了其他樹的根節點。

 

我們所依賴的第二個原則始終是附加到最後一個包文件的末尾。

因此,打包文件永遠不會在中間進行更新。這意味著可以避免只在頁面的一小部分進行更新的中間進行昂貴的更新,並且也無需管理可用空間。不再引用的空間只會導致無法訪問。


“自下而上”附加和編寫更改

這兩個原則有很多含義。隨之而來的一個暗示是,所有更新都必須通過將其附加到包的末尾來完成。 RDM通過首先寫入沒有直接或間接引用其他更新項目的新項目和更新項目,然後是引用這些項目的樹節點,其父樹節點,其祖父母樹節點等,直到它們的根節點,來提交事務。主B樹已被編寫。

 

這種設計意味著即使沒有其他更改,也將必須寫入其他節點。對於大型事務,通常不需要考慮此問題,因為大型事務更可能在同一B樹節點上發生多個更新。另一方面,對於僅進行少量更改的小型交易而言,額外的開銷可能是相當大的。對於涉及時間序列或 圓桌.


快照

使用遞歸“寫入時復制” 快照 可以非常有效地實施請求快照時,請求快照的客戶端可以使用主B樹的當前根節點,並且其數據視圖是從該節點可以到達的位置派生的。快照和使用讀取鎖的讀取之間的唯一區別是,請求讀取鎖的客戶端將阻止對請求讀取鎖的表的更新,而快照則不會。無需其他任何昂貴的內部數據結構即可處理快照。請求快照的客戶端可以簡單地處理來自事務文件服務器(TFS)的內容請求,其處理方式與帶鎖的普通讀取完全相同。它獲得一個主要的B樹根節點,並根據其中的引用從TFS請求其他節點。

 

結果,利用寫時復制的打包文件格式非常適合快照。當請求快照時,可以在包中引用舊數據。從打包文件的實現角度來看,我們只需要確保不會刪除快照中可見數據的打包文件。


耐用性

由於數據僅附加到最後一個打包文件的末尾(文件的格式經過精心設計),因此在大多數情況下,只需同步最後一個打包文件,就可以實現持久性。與需要同步多個文件的其他數據庫(包括較早版本的RDM)相比,這具有一些性能優勢。 

 

事實證明,如果不需要持久性,大多數同步可以省略。在這種情況下,系統崩潰可能會導致某些數據丟失。但是,由於我們僅附加到文件,因此,如果找到一個主要的B樹根節點,那麼從該根節點引用的所有數據都應該是有效的。假設文件系統實現在僅向該文件追加時不會丟失文件中間的塊。 RDM必須採取一種預防措施,才能起作用:每當請求新的打包文件時,都必須同步以前的打包文件(在Linux和Unix上,我們也必須同步目錄)。這樣可以確保從一個打包文件到上一個打包文件的任何引用都不會丟失。

 

我們還實現了一種不安全模式,該模式下我們根本不同步打包文件。僅當不擔心丟失數據庫中的數據時才應使用此模式,否則可以確保不同步文件就不會關閉操作系統或使之崩潰。數據庫崩潰是可以的,因為寫入的內容將在文件系統緩存中。請注意,在某些嵌入式系統中可能不是這種情況,其中文件系統是在用戶空間中實現的。

 

為了進行恢復,精心設計了打包文件格式,以便可以向前和向後讀取打包文件。對於每個64KiB,都有特殊的恢復信息,使您可以向前和向後掃描文件,而不必從頭開始讀取整個文件。此屬性對於有效和可靠的恢復很重要。 Recovery不會向包中寫入任何內容,而是找到最後一個主要的B樹根節點並驗證包的末尾。如果發現數據庫處於某種不完整狀態,則將創建一個新的打包文件。這僅意味著崩潰可能會導致打包文件中的內容未被主B樹根節點直接或間接引用。

 

打包文件格式允許並行執行多個更新事務,但是當它們提交時,追加到打包文件將在當前提交的事務之間交替進行。小型事務可能能夠將其所有數據附加到一個塊中,而大型事務將需要輪流寫入其數據。主B樹需要專門編寫,並且每次完成時,其他更新事務或吸塵器(垃圾收集器,我們將在後面介紹)的更改都必須與手頭事務的更改集成在一起。


運行時緩存

具有ID索引的舊設計以及基於固定大小項目的實現都要求,只要我們有另一個客戶端對同一表進行更新,就必須清除運行時緩存中給定表的數據。使用RDM 15.0設計,我們不需要清除任何數據。運行時緩存始終使用包地址查找數據,因此可以保證在緩存時找到正確的數據。這意味著數據可能能夠在運行時緩存中保留更長的時間,從而有可能提高性能。


並行與直接讀寫

具有ID-index的舊設計不允許操作並行運行。利用寫時復制的RDM 15.0設計允許來自不同客戶端的大多數操作並行運行。該文件格式甚至允許大多數文件操作在同一台機器上從不同進程並行執行,而無需直接與TFS進行通信即可直接讀取和寫入打包文件。這種方法產生了更高的性能。


吸塵

儘管RDM 15.0設計具有如上所述的許多優點,但它具有一個主要缺點。由於我們只附加到包的末尾,因此它將無限期地增長。為了解決此問題,我們執行了稱為“真空”的垃圾收集過程。吸塵將在 單獨的文章.


結論

我們已經看到,RDM 15.0的文件格式非常靈活,非常適合快照隔離,並行性,低內存佔用和快速恢復。我們建議您繼續閱讀 快照隔離吸塵。享受! 

 

Sverre Hvammen Johansen和Daigoro Toyama

Skip to content

Updates by Copy-on-Write

Introduction

“Copy on write” is a technique used in a wide variety of applications in computing. RDM uses this technique in a couple of areas.  Before diving into RDM, let's take a look at the general case.

 

The main idea behind copy-on-write is to copy some content and then modify the copy instead of modifying the original when writing to memory, a file, or a block device. That's where the term copy-on-write came from.  Some applications are copy-on-write in functional programming in combination with “reference counting.” In Unix, copy-on-write is used in sharing the virtual memory in the implementation of the fork system call with some assistance from hardware. The Btrfs file system in Linux uses copy-on-write to allow efficient transaction handling and snapshot isolation. This technique is also used by hypervisors and virtual machine implementations for efficient memory management.

 

In RDM, we use this technique for nested transactions. However, this article has its focus on the database file format implemented in RDM 15.0.  First, let's take a look at the previous versions of RDM.


Previous versions of RDM

RDMe 12.0 and older (”RDMe”) used a transaction log. This meant that data was typically written twice - first to the transaction log and then to the actual database files. RDMe also stored items with fixed length, and in some cases, additional content had to be stored separately elsewhere. This design resulted in wasted space, incurred an extra overhead when the content had to be split up, and was in general not very flexible. Because of the fixed length records, it was also not useful to do any type of compression on the data.

 

To mitigate these issues, RDM 14.0 implemented variable size records with updates using “copy on write.” The database files were split into what we termed “pack files.” An update of the pack was always done with doing “copy on write.” However, RDM 14.0 did not do a full recursive “copy on write.” Instead, it relied on a key-value store (ID-index) whenever content was moved from one location in the pack to another location.

 

This design had its own issues. The ID-index kept track of unused space. This tracking and the data structures needed to efficiently utilize the unused space turned out to be quite expensive. It also prevented reuse of space in combination with bulk write. The I/O performance was far from optimum, either, as data was written into pages when only a fraction of the page was updated. 

 

This design also needed a transaction log for the ID-index, which was integrated into the pack for RDM 14.1.  Flushing the ID-index was also relatively expensive, which resulted in potentially slow database open and close. These issues made this design unsuitable for applications like the REST-API, which relies on opening and closing the database for every single request.

 

RDM 14.2 took a slightly different approach from RDM 14.1. In the following section, we will mainly discuss the 15.0 design which shares many characteristics with the 14.2 design, as well as some characteristics with the 14.1 design.


RDM 15.0

Two principles

RDM 15.0 is built on two principles.

 

The first principle we rely on is full recursive “copy on write.” This means that the persistent data structure used in RDM 15.0 is a tree (or a tree of trees depending on the level of abstraction) without use of an ID-index. Two tree structures are used: B-trees and R-trees. The database will have one tree for each key defined in the schema, but there are other trees needed as well.  The details of this are beyond the scope of this article. To conclude this discussion, we mention that to tie all of these trees together, there is also a main tree which has references to the root nodes of the other trees.

 

The second principle we rely on is always appending to the end of the last pack file.

Therefore, pack files are never updated in the middle. This means that expensive updates in the middle where only a small fraction of a page is updated are avoided, and there is also no need to manage free space. Space that is no longer referenced simply ends up not being accessed.


Appending and Writing Changes “Bottom Up”

There are quite a few implications that follow from these two principles. One implication that naturally follows is that all updates must be done by appending them to the end of the pack.  RDM commits a transaction by first writing new and updated items that do not have direct or indirect references to other updated items, followed by tree nodes that reference them, their parent tree nodes, their grandparent tree nodes, and so on until the root node of the main B-tree has been written.

 

This design means there will be additional nodes that must be written even though there were otherwise no changes to them.  This is typically not a concern for large transactions, where multiple updates are more likely to occur on the same B-tree node.  On the other hand, the extra overhead may be substantial for small transactions with just a few changes.  The best performance can be expected for use cases that involve time series or circular tables.


Snapshot

With recursive “copy on write,” snapshots can be implemented very efficiently.  When a snapshot is requested, the current root node of the main B-tree can be used by the client requesting the snapshot and its view of the data is derived from what can be reached from this node. The only difference between a snapshot and a read using read locks is that a client requesting a read lock will block updates to the tables on which the read locks are requested, while a snapshot will not. No other additional expensive internal data structures are needed to handle the snapshot.  The client requesting the snapshot can simply handle requests for content from the Transactional File Server (TFS) exactly how it would handle a normal read with locks.  It gets a main B-tree root node and based on the references therein, it requests other nodes from the TFS.

 

As a result, the pack file format utilizing copy-on-write is well suited for snapshots. When a snapshot is requested, old data can be referenced in the pack. From the pack file implementation standpoint, we just need to ensure that pack files that have data visible to a snapshot are not deleted.


Durability

Since data is only appended to the end of the last pack file, whose file format is carefully designed, durability can be achieved in most cases simply by syncing the last pack file. This has some performance benefits compared to other databases that need to sync several files, including the older versions of RDM. 

 

It turns out that most syncs can be omitted if durability is not required. A system crash may cause some data loss in this case. However, since we are only appending to a file, if a main B-tree root node is found, all the data referenced from this root node should be valid.  This assumes a file system implementation that does not lose blocks in the middle of a file when only appending occurs to that file. There is one precaution RDM must take for this to work: Any time a new pack file is requested, the previous pack file has to be synced (and on Linux and Unix, we also have to sync the directory).  This to make sure that any reference from one pack file to a previous pack file should not be lost.

 

We have also implemented an unsafe mode, where we do not sync pack files at all.  This mode should only be used if losing data in the database is not a concern or it can be guaranteed that the operating system does not shut down or crash without syncing files.  It is OK for the database to crash since the content written will be in the file system cache.  Note that this may not be the case with some embedded systems, where the file system is implemented in user space.

 

For recovery, the pack file format has been crafted to make it possible to read the pack file both forward and backward. For every 64KiB, there is special recovery information that makes it possible to scan the file forward and backward without having to read the whole file from the beginning. This property is important for efficient and reliable recovery. Recovery does not write anything to the pack but instead finds the last main B-tree root node and verifies the end of the pack. If a database is found to be in a certain incomplete state, a new pack file will be created.  This simply means that crashes may leave contents in the pack files that are not directly or indirectly referenced by the main B-tree root node.

 

The pack file format allows multiple update transactions to be active in parallel, but when they commit, appending to the pack file will alternate among those that are currently committing. A small transaction may be able to append all its data in one chunk while larger transactions will need to take turns writing their data.  The main B-tree needs to be written exclusively and each time that is done, changes from other update transactions or the vacuumer (a garbage collector, we cover later) have to be integrated with the changes for the transaction at hand.


Runtime Caching

The old design with the ID-index as well as implementations based on fixed size items required data for a given table that was in the runtime cache to be purged any time we had another client making updates to the same table.  With the RDM 15.0 design, we don’t need to purge any data. The runtime cache always looks up data using the pack address and is therefore guaranteed to find the right data if it is cached.  This means that data may be able to stay in the runtime cache for a longer time, potentially increasing performance.


Parallelism and Direct Read and Writes

The old design with the ID-index did not allow operations to run in parallel.  The RDM 15.0 design that utilizes copy-on-write allows most operations from different clients to be run in parallel. The file format even allows most file operations to be done in parallel from different processes on the same machine reading and writing to the pack files directly without communicating to the TFS.  This approach yields greater performance.


Vacuuming

While the RDM 15.0 design has many advantages as described above, it has one major drawback. Since we only append to the end of the pack, it will grow indefinitely as a result.  To address this issue, we execute a garbage collection process termed “vacuuming.” Vacuuming will be discussed in a separate article.


Conclusion

We have seen that the file format for RDM 15.0 is flexible and well suited for snapshot isolation, parallelism, low memory footprint, and fast recovery.  We suggest you continue reading about snapshot isolation and vacuuming.  Enjoy! 

 

by Sverre Hvammen Johansen and Daigoro Toyama