跳到內容

圓表和優化的主鍵

一些用例要求在有限的時間內存儲數據。時間序列就是這樣一種用例,其中使用時間戳來對數據進行鍵控。可以以高頻率從傳感器收集測量值,進行鍵控並存儲,以後再使用該鍵進行檢索,然後進行分析。由於數量大,某些數據可能需要在以後的時間清除。這是圓表和RDM優化的主鍵蓬勃發展的地方。

 

考慮到此用例,優化了RDM 15.0的循環表和重新設計的主鍵。當數據存儲在循環表中時,假定通常按關鍵順序接收並插入數據¹。當循環表“已滿”時,最舊的數據將自動從數據庫中清除。與未訂購的刀片相比,這種操作方式可以提高效率一個數量級²。就CPU時間和I / O量而言,可能都是這種情況。效率提高的原因是,當所有插入的主鍵值都增加而所有刪除的主鍵值都最小時,內部數據結構將非常有效。

 

寫時復制

RDM中另一個有助於提高循環表效率的設計決策是RDM確實 寫時復制 無需使用事務日誌。這有兩個方面的好處。首先,沒有事務日誌,數據僅寫入一次。³ 其次,通過寫時復制,可以非常有效地實現數據快照,無需鎖就可以訪問數據,並且仍具有先前寫入數據的一致視圖。

 

快照

此後不久,即可將添加到循環表並已提交的數據用於快照。與在較晚時間使用數據的應用程序相比,執行此操作的應用程序將觀察到更高的性能。這是由於緩存。如果沒有有效的快照實現,則由於必須依靠鎖而導致性能下降,因此在插入後不久可能無法使用數據。

 

吸塵

最後,在其中清除最舊數據的循環表通常不會在復製過程中被複製 吸塵 因為在清理實際的打包文件時已經清除了數據。

 

使用主鍵而不是行ID

早期版本的RDM始終使用Row-ID來定位行數據。使用RDM 15.0,我們對此進行了更改。在定義主鍵的情況下,將使用主鍵值代替行ID。這還有其他一些好處。首先,對於外部引用,由於主鍵用於引用,因此我們不再需要查找外部行來查找相應的主鍵。其次,由於主鍵用於對其進行任何引用,因此可以在不包含主鍵的情況下對行進行編碼。

 

數據庫聯合

RDM具有打開多個數據庫以在一個視圖中讀取的能力(數據庫聯合)。優化的主鍵(我們使用主鍵而不是Row-ID來定位行數據)使聯合在查找主鍵排序的日期時更加有效。將來自不同數據庫的具有相同Row-ID的行放在一起的情況下,按Row-ID順序檢索數據通常是沒有意義的,因為來自不同數據庫的Row-ID可能不相關。

 

最後的話

所有這些因素都為涉及圓表的許多用例帶來了出色的性能。準備開始了嗎?下載 Raima數據庫管理器在這裡。

 

Sverre Hvammen Johansen和Daigoro Toyama

¹或接近關鍵訂單
²如果每個主鍵值的數據量很大,或者交易一次只能插入一行或幾行,則此陳述就不太正確
³假設沒有發生吸塵

Skip to content

Circular Tables and Optimized Primary Keys

Some use cases require data to be stored for a limited time.  Time series is one such use case where data is keyed using a timestamp.  Measurements may be collected from sensors at a high frequency, keyed and stored, retrieved later using the key, and then analyzed.  Due to the volume, some of this data may need to be purged at a later time. This is where circular tables and RDM's optimized primary keys thrive.

 

Circular tables and the redesigned primary keys for RDM 15.0 are optimized with this use case in mind.  When data is stored in circular tables, the assumption is that the data in general are received and inserted in key order¹. When the circular table is “full,” the oldest data is automatically purged from the database.  This pattern of operation can be an order of magnitude more efficient compared to inserts that are not ordered². This may be the case both with respect to CPU-time and the amount of I/O. The reason for this increased efficiency is that the internal data structures are very efficient when all the inserts are with increasing primary key values and all the deletes are with the minimum primary key values.

 

Copy-on-Write

Another design decision in RDM that contributes to the efficiency of circular tables is that RDM does copy-on-write without using a transaction log.  This is beneficial for two reasons.  First, without a transaction log, the data is written only once.³ Second, with copy-on-write, a snapshot of data can be implemented very efficiently, giving access to data without needing locks and still having a consistent view of data previously written.

 

Snapshots

Data added to circular tables and committed can be made available for a snapshot shortly thereafter.  Applications that do this will observe greater performance compared to applications that use the data at a much later time. This is due to caching.  Without an efficient snapshot implementation, it might not have been possible to use the data shortly after insertion due to the performance penalty caused by having to rely on locks.

 

Vacuuming

Lastly, circular tables where the oldest data is purged often do not end up being copied during vacuuming since the data have already been purged when the actual pack file is subject to vacuuming.

 

Using a Primary Key instead of a Row-ID

Previous versions of RDM always used the Row-ID to locate row data.  With RDM 15.0, we changed that.  In the case where a primary key is defined, the primary key value is used instead of the Row-ID.  This has a couple of additional benefits. First, for foreign references, we no longer need to look up the foreign row to find the corresponding primary key since the primary key is used for the reference.  Second, the row can be encoded without including the primary key since the primary key is used for any reference to it.

 

Database Union

RDM has the capability of opening a number of databases for read in one view (database union). The optimized primary key, where we use a primary key instead of a Row-ID to locate the row data, makes the union more efficient at locating the date ordered by the primary key.  It often did not make sense to retrieve the data in Row-ID order where rows with the same Row-ID from different databases were placed together, since the Row-IDs from different databases may not be related.

 

Final word

All these factors contribute to great performance for many use cases involving circular tables. Ready to get started? Download Raima Database Manager here.

 

by Sverre Hvammen Johansen and Daigoro Toyama

¹Or close to key order
²This statement is less true if the amount of data for each primary key value is large or transactions only insert one or a few rows at a time
³Assuming vacuuming does not happen