跳到內容

下一代數據庫管理?

Bill談到了嵌入式數據庫行業變化的驅動因素,並將其與SQL,雲計算,作為驅動因素的性能等相關聯。

根據 阿格勞瓦爾(Agrawal)等人。 (2009年6月) 由於數據和使用場景的爆炸性增長以及計算硬件和平台的重大變化,數據庫社區正處於歷史的轉折點。

嵌入式數據庫行業變革的驅動因素

數據庫研究人員,架構師,用戶和專家的會議討論了驅動數據庫行業變化的幾個因素。其中一些因素是:對“大數據”的興奮;數據分析作為利潤中心;結構化和非結構化數據無處不在;擴展的開發人員需求;以及計算領域的架構變化。我要解決的問題是數據庫社區的這些重大變化如何影響嵌入式計算行業。存在並且將產生影響是絕對的。

數據分析的影響

我們已經看到某些客戶對“數據分析”因素感到興奮。如Agrawal等。 (2009年6月)指出:“越來越多的行業正在聘請統計精妙的分析師,並且越來越有興趣在原始數據上運行公式。”換句話說,這些分析師不僅對生產線配額感興趣,而且還可能對沿生產線訪問由無數自動化設備生成的數據感興趣。原始數據可能是提高公司效率和利潤的關鍵,因此獲取數據已成為一種必要。

擴展的開發人員需求

對於我來說,最複雜的因素之一就是“擴展的開發人員需求”。儘管在應用程序開發人員社區中採用關係型DBMS的數量已大大增加,但是需要數據管理的行業的擴展需求正在為可編程性和可用性創造新的期望。 的SQL,儘管對許多類型的數據庫查詢而言格外出色,但在某些應用程序中可能過於繁瑣。具有簡化的系統組件的新編程模型,用於 數據管理 在某些應用程序類型中,操作可能比SQL更容易接受。換句話說,應用程序開發人員正在尋找 最快的 高質量開發其應用程序的方法。在某些情況下,將SQL規定為必需條件,因為它被視為標準,並且團隊中的某些人都知道。真正的要求是他們希望快速捕獲和存儲信息,並且任何提供此功能且使用最少的代碼行數的API都更好。

績效和驅動因素|嵌入式數據庫行業

嵌入式數據庫行業變化的驅動因素可以追溯到性能。較大的數據集意味著引擎需要擴展以有效地處理搜索。上市時間是另一個性能指標,由易於使用和與其他應用程序開發工具的互操作性決定。在嵌入式系統領域, 在內存數據庫中 性能或提供確定性響應時間的能力,尤其是在分析人員需要訪問設備數據的情況下,這是當務之急。

關於提高性能,Jouppi(2009年6月)報告說:“單線程性能提高的漫長旅程已經停止。”現在,我們看到的是每個晶粒更多的處理器內核,而不是更快的處理器。為了提供真正的並行處理,對Raima產品線的最新設計更改集中在這些處理器的行為特徵上。無需與其他線程或進程進行交互或同步即可並行執行的更多工作將大大提高嵌入式數據庫引擎的吞吐量。

互聯網是帶寬增加受物理定律限制的另一個領域。 “雲計算”的出現對於許多類型的應用程序將是明智的。 Smith(2009年7月)指出:“隨著[雲計算]的普及,工程師在開發這類應用程序時應意識到他們面臨的一些基本限制,特別是光速有限”。對於許多其他應用程序,缺乏確定性的響應時間將阻止應用程序功能的採用。但是, 嵌入式數據庫應用程序 在某些應用程序中,與“雲”進行互操作的能力可以保留確定的響應時間,並可能在“雲”邊緣運行。

從我的角度來看,市場似乎正處於更加分散的邊緣。下一個時期的一些給定是:

  • SQL將按需增長,但並非在所有細分市場中都在增長
  • 可用性和上市時間對開發人員的要求很高,但不一定是SQL
  • 與訪問數據以及將數據移向分析中心的互操作性的需求(可能基於“雲”)
  • 性能將是絕對要求
  • 對於所有應用程序用例,典型的ACID數據庫要求可能都不是嚴格的要求。

根據我最近幾天的閱讀, 嵌入式RDM 該項目似乎準備利用嵌入式數據庫行業進一步分散化帶來的優勢。

參考:

AGRAWAL,R.,AILAMAKI,A.,BERNSTEIN,P.,BREWER,E.,CAREY,M.,CHAUDHURI,S。,等。 (2009年6月)。克萊蒙特數據庫研究報告。 ACM的通訊,52(6),56-65。從Business Source Alumni Edition數據庫中檢索2009年7月14日。

Jouppi,N.(2009年6月)。技術觀點:對並行程序進行確定性重放的軟件和硬件支持。 ACM的通訊,52(6),92-92。從學術搜索校友版數據庫中檢索2009年7月14日。

SMITH,J.(2009年7月)。戰鬥物理:艱難的戰鬥。 ACM的通訊,52(7),60-65。從Business Source Complete數據庫中檢索2009年7月14日。

發表評論

Skip to content

Bill talks about the Driving Factors for Change in the Embedded Database Industry and relates this to SQL, Cloud Computing, Performance as a driving factor and more.

According to Agrawal, et al. (2009, June) The database community is at a turning point in its history, due to both an explosion of data and usage scenarios and major shifts in computing hardware and platforms.

Driving Factors for Change in the Embedded Database Industry

A meeting of database researchers, architects, users and pundits discussed several factors driving changes in the database industry. Some of those factors are: excitement over “big data”; data analysis as a profit center; ubiquity of structured and unstructured data; expanded developer demands; and, architectural shifts in computing. The question that I struggle with is how these major shifts in the database community affect the embedded computing industry. It is an absolute that there is and will be an affect.

Impact of Data Analysis

We have seen the impact of the excitement over the “data analysis” factor in some of our customers. As Agrawal, et al. (2009, June) states, “Statistically sophisticated analysts are being hired in a growing number of industries, with increasing interest in running their formulae on the raw data.” In other words, these analysts are not only interested in the production line quotas, but may also be interested in accessing the data generated by the myriad of automated devices along the production line. The raw data may hold the key to increased efficiency and profit for the company and access to it is becoming a necessity.

Expanded Developer Demands

One of the most complex factors for me to generalize is the “expanded developer demands”. While there has been a significant rise in the adoption of relational DBMSs in the application developer community, expanded requirements of the industries needing data management are creating new expectations for programmability and usability. SQL, while exceptionally good for many types of database queries may be overly cumbersome in some applications. A new programming model with simplified system components for data management and manipulation may be more easily accepted than SQL in some of these application types. In other words, application developers are looking for the fastest way possible to develop their applications with quality. In some cases, SQL is stated as a requirement because it is considered a standard and someone on the team knows it. The real requirement is they want to capture and store information quickly and any API that provides that ability with the fewest number of lines of code, the better.

Performance and Driving Factors | Embedded Database Industry

The driving factors for change in the embedded database industry can be traced back to performance. Larger data sets mean the engine needs to scale to handle searches efficiently. Time-to-market is another performance indicator which is dictated by ease-of-use and interoperability with other application development tools. In the embedded systems space, in memory database performance or the ability to provide deterministic response times, especially in light of analysts needing access to the device data is a priority.

When it comes to increased performance, Jouppi (2009, June) reports, “The long march of single-thread performance increases has stopped in its tracks.” Instead of faster processors, we are now seeing more processor cores per die. Recent design changes to the Raima product line are focusing on the behavioral characteristics of these processors in order to provide true parallel processing. The more work that can be done in parallel without interaction or synchronization with other threads or processes will significantly increase the throughput of the embedded database engine.

The internet is another area where increased bandwidth is limited by the laws of physics. The advent of “cloud computing” will be sensible for many types of applications. Smith (2009, July) states, “As [cloud computing] grows in popularity, engineers should be aware of some fundamental limitations they face when developing these kinds of applications-in particular, the finite speed of light”. For many other applications, the lack of deterministic response times will prevent the application functionality from being adopted. However, a mixture of embedded database applications running on the edge of the “cloud” would be a likely scenario to preserving deterministic response times with the ability to interoperate with the “cloud” for some of these applications.

From my perspective, the market seems to be on the verge of fragmenting even more. Some of the givens for the next period are:

  • SQL will grow as a requirement, but not in all segments
  • Usability and time-to-market will be very high on developer requirements, but not necessarily SQL
  • The need for interoperability with access and movement of data toward analysis centers (could be “cloud” based)
  • Performance will be an absolute requirement
  • Typical ACID database requirements may not be a strict requirement for all application use cases.

Based on my reading over the last few days, the RDM Embedded project seems to be poised to take advantage of following the further fragmentation of the embedded database industry.

References:

AGRAWAL, R., AILAMAKI, A., BERNSTEIN, P., BREWER, E., CAREY, M., CHAUDHURI, S., et al. (2009, June). The Claremont Report on Database Research. Communications of the ACM, 52(6), 56-65. Retrieved July 14, 2009, from Business Source Alumni Edition database.

Jouppi, N. (2009, June). Technical Perspective: Software and Hardware Support for Deterministic Replay of Parallel Programs. Communications of the ACM, 52(6), 92-92. Retrieved July 14, 2009, from Academic Search Alumni Edition database.

SMITH, J. (2009, July). Fighting Physics: A Tough Battle. Communications of the ACM, 52(7), 60-65. Retrieved July 14, 2009, from Business Source Complete database.

Leave a Comment