人工智能和邊緣計算:人工智能必將改變未來的7種方式

3 月 9

邊緣計算是一種分佈式信息技術體系結構,其中客戶端數據在網絡的外圍進行處理,並儘可能靠近原始源。移動計算,計算機組件成本的下降以及物聯網世界中大量網絡設備的推動了向邊緣計算的發展。取決於實現方式,邊緣計算體系結構中對時間敏感的數據可以在始發點由智能設備進行處理,或者發送到位於與客戶地理上緊鄰的中間服務器。時間敏感度較低的數據被發送到雲以進行歷史分析,大數據分析和長期存儲。

 

智能設備變得更加智能,並且具有人工智能(AI)的獨立性。由於AI在網絡邊緣迅速發展,因此我們決定列出一個列表,您可以輕鬆瀏覽一下,看看它如何改變邊緣計算的未來。

邊緣的AI2

削減開支並提高系統效率

在基於雲的環境中,所有數據都將流向其中進行處理的雲。多虧了邊緣計算,只有一小部分數據最終存儲在雲數據中心中,而其中的大部分仍然分佈在駐留在其中的網絡中的各個節點之間 邊緣數據庫.

 

在處理數據時,軟件工具會使用邊緣計算網絡的資源。借助機器學習和AI,可以優化這些流程以降低雲數據中心的負載。

 

在大多數情況下,處理源附近的數據並將僅通過網絡將有價值的數據發送到遠程數據中心要高效得多。例如,與其持續廣播有關汽車發動機油位的數據,不如說汽車傳感器可以簡單地將數據摘要定期發送到遠程服務器。或者,智能恆溫器可能僅在溫度升高或降低到可接受範圍之外時才傳輸數據。或者,針對電梯門的智能Wi-Fi安全攝像頭可能會使用邊緣分析,並且僅在兩個連續圖像之間的特定百分比的像素發生顯著變化(指示運動)時才傳輸數據。

 

邊緣計算還可以使遠程辦公室/分支機構的環境以及具有不同地理位置的用戶群的組織受益。在這種情況下,可以在遠程位置安裝中間微數據中心或高性能Raima服務器,以在本地複制雲服務,從而提高性能以及設備在幾分之一秒內根據易腐數據採取行動的能力。

 

隨著時間的流逝,人工智能將能夠有效地委派數據處理所需的負載,這將釋放雲數據中心並使它們可用於其他任務。

 

這樣一來,人工智能將減少與將數據從設備傳輸到雲(反之亦然)的持續需求相關的成本,並總體上提高系統效率。

 

先進的數據處理和數據管理的重要性

您在邊緣計算環境中擁有的設備越多,您將不得不處理的數據就越多。雜亂無章,不准確和不一致的數據標準可能使所有計算能力無用,並剝奪了您可採取行動的見解。

 

由於AI可以實現自動化並加快數據處理工作流程,因此公司必須確保數據已準備就緒,可以進行24/7的高級數據處理。

 

因此,數據管理的重要性。數據邊緣中心不在一個地方。它是設備網絡。像Raima數據庫管理器這樣的DBMS是為在有限資源的奇特硬件和軟件組合上運行的邊緣上的設備級應用程序而開發的。 AI訪問數據庫以分析數據並生成報告。

 

當數據分佈在成千上萬的站點和節點上時,它甚至變得太複雜,以至於AI無法有效地進行分析。邊緣數據庫和數據管理實踐的創新使運營商和開發人員可以全面了解數據,即使數據分佈在各處。

 

憑藉良好的數據管理實踐和穩固的邊緣數據庫,人工智能將使邊緣計算環境更加可靠和高效。例如,AI將能夠自動分配資源以滿足所需的響應時間,並在需要時將數據返回給應用程序和設備。

 

改進的操作可靠性

邊緣計算雖然相當可靠,但是仍然存在一些缺陷,這些缺陷極大地影響了邊緣計算網絡的可靠性。第一個挑戰是保持最佳的網絡帶寬。

 

當網絡上有大量數據並且公司希望對其進行分析時,該請求將導致網絡帶寬轉移。某些節點可能最終被切除,從而導致數據分析不准確。

 

然後就是分佈式計算的問題。網絡必鬚髮揮重要作用,才能使整個操作可靠。不均衡的計算分配意味著更多的處理時間,這意味著成本增加。通過使用在每個設備上本地存儲數據的邊緣數據庫,即使網絡不穩定,也可以確保數據完整性。

 

人工智能必將解決所有這些痛點。通過學習模式並獲得邊緣計算網絡中每個節點的處理能力,AI可以自動優化流程。結合一個 邊緣數據庫 高效,可靠地處理數據,以實現最佳帶寬使用,優化的計算分佈以及系統中沒有延遲。

 

隨著時間的流逝,AI能夠學習邊緣計算系統,數據分析模式的複雜設計,並預測帶寬和處理要求,以無縫地專用資源並保持邊緣計算網絡始終處於運行狀態。

 

實時預測成為可能

想像一下,能夠利用邊緣計算網絡上的所有數據立即生成有洞察力的報告。如果不對邊緣數據庫中的數據進行預處理,則這些類型的請求會花費一些時間。將數據從節點上拉到雲系統進行處理將延長邊緣計算網絡的資源,並花費時間。

 

借助AI和本地數據庫管理系統,邊緣計算網絡將能夠執行 先進的數據處理 根據您輸入的參數提供實時預測。

云網絡延遲

確保離線功能,可靠性和安全性

大多數應用程序都將在某些時候失去互聯網連接,許多用例需要脫機功能-例如,自動駕駛汽車,關鍵應用程序(例如Edge數據庫)使應用程序始終能夠工作-無論設備是否連接到互聯網,都可以提供無縫的用戶體驗。同時,像RDM這樣的Edge數據庫可確保數據可靠存儲,並且不會因ACID兼容交易而丟失,ACID兼容交易是數據管理中的黃金標準。

 

人工智能已經在數據安全中發揮了作用,它將幫助組織應對邊緣計算安全挑戰。憑藉能夠識別網絡中的弱點和漏洞並在被利用時立即發出警報的能力,人工智能將使邊緣計算網絡更加安全。將AI與快速,安全的數據庫系統結合使用,可始終確保您的數據安全。

 

5G,邊緣數據庫和量子計算相結合以提高AI效率

5G和量子計算技術距離我們的生活只有一步之遙。 5G在世界某些地區已經可用,邊緣數據庫變得越來越重要。

 

我們知道5g可增加網絡覆蓋範圍和響應速度,同時降低延遲。這將在邊緣上導致大量數據,並且在快速邊緣數據庫中安全地存儲和處理該數據將至關重要。

 

5G,邊緣數據庫和量子計算將使AI在邊緣計算環境中的任務授權,優化帶寬,提供實時預測以及提高系統安全性方面更加高效。

 

毫無疑問,人工智能將在邊緣計算網絡中發揮關鍵作用。邊緣計算的複雜性隨著節點數量和數據量的增長而增長。

 

借助邊緣數據庫和AI的學習和適應能力,我們將看到邊緣計算網絡的運行可靠性提高,實時實時高級數據處理以及邊緣計算更加安全。學習更多關於 Raima的邊緣數據庫 並下載免費試用版。

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.

Skip to content

Edge computing is a distributed information technology architecture in which client data is processed at the periphery of the network, as close to the originating source as possible. The move toward edge computing is driven by mobile computing, the decreasing cost of computer components and the sheer number of networked devices in the IoT world. Depending on the implementation, time-sensitive data in an edge computing architecture may be processed at the point of origin by an intelligent device or sent to an intermediary server located in close geographical proximity to the client. Data that is less time sensitive is sent to the cloud for historical analysis, big data analytics and long-term storage.

 

The smart devices have become even more intelligent and self-contained with artificial intelligence (AI). Since AI is growing rapidly at the edge of the network, we decided to put together a list you can easily skim through and see how it is changing the future of edge computing.

AI at the edge2

Cut-Down Expenses and Improved System Efficiency

In a cloud-based environment, all data goes to the cloud where it is processed. Thanks to edge computing, only a small portion of data ends up on the cloud data centers, while the big chunk of it remains distributed across the nodes in the network residing in edge databases.

 

When processing the data, the software tools use the resources of the edge computing network. With machine learning and AI, these processes can be optimized to lower the load on cloud data centers.

 

In most cases, it is much more efficient to process data near its source and send only the data that has value over the network to a remote data center. Instead of continually broadcasting data about the oil level in a car´s engine, for example, an automotive sensor might simply send a summary of data to a remote server periodically. Or, a smart thermostat might only transmit data if the temperature rises or falls outside acceptable limits. Or, an intelligent Wi- Fi security camera aimed at an elevator door might use edge analytics and only transmit data when a certain percentage of pixels significantly changes between two consecutive images, indicating motion.

 

Edge computing can also benefit remote office/branch office environments and organizations that have a geographically dispersed user base. In such a scenario, intermediary microdata centers or high-performance Raima servers can be installed at remote locations to replicate cloud services locally, improving performance and the ability for a device to act upon perishable data in fractions of a second.

 

Over time AI will be able to delegate the load needed for data processing efficiently, which will free up the cloud data centers and make them available for other tasks.

 

By doing so, AI will reduce the costs associated with the constant need to transfer data from devices to the cloud and vice versa and improve system efficiency overall.

 

Advanced-Data Processing and the Importance of Data Management

The more devices you have in the edge computing environment, the more data you will have to deal with. Unstructured, inaccurate, and inconsistent data standards can render all that computing power useless and deprive you of actionable insights.

 

Since AI is there to automate things and speed up the data processing workflow, companies have to ensure that data is ready for advanced data processing 24/7.

 

Hence the importance of data management. The data edge center is not in one place. It is a network of devices. A DBMS like Raima Database Manager is made for device level applications out on the edge running on odd hardware and software combinations with limited resources. AI accesses the database to analyze the data and generate reports.

 

When data is spread across thousands of sites and nodes, it becomes too complex even for AI to efficiently analyze it. Innovations in edge databases and data management practices enable operators and developers to have a holistic view of the data, even if it is spread all over the place.

 

With good data management practices and a solid edge database in place, AI will make the edge computing environments more reliable and efficient. For instance, AI will be able to allocate resources automatically to meet the required response times and return the data to apps and devices whenever it’s needed.

 

Improved Operational Reliability

Although quite reliable, edge computing still has some flaws, which greatly affect edge computing network reliability. The first challenge is maintaining optimal network bandwidth.

 

When there is a lot of data on the network, and companies want to analyze it, the request will result in a network bandwidth shift. Some of the nodes may end up being cut out, resulting in inaccurate data analysis.

 

Then there is the matter of distributed computing. The network has to function as a big brain for the entire operation to be reliable. Unequal computing distribution means more processing time, which translates into increased costs. By using an edge database that stores the data locally on each device you can ensure data integrity even when the network is unstable.

 

AI is bound to resolve all these pain points. By learning the patterns and having access to the processing power of every node in the edge computing network, AI can automatically optimize the processes. Combine this with an edge database to handle the data efficiently and reliably to achieve optimal bandwidth usage, optimized computing distribution, and no latency in the system.

 

Over time AI is capable of learning the intricate design of edge computing systems, data analysis patterns, and predict bandwidth and processing requirements to seamlessly dedicate resources and keep the edge computing network operational at all times.

 

Real-time Predictions Made Possible

Imagine having the ability to leverage all data on the edge computing network to instantly generate an insightful report. These types of requests take time if you do not pre-process the data in an edge database. Pulling the data from nodes up to a cloud system to process it stretches out the edge computing network’s resources and takes time.

 

Thanks to AI and local database management systems, edge computing networks will be able to perform advanced data processing to deliver real-time predictions based on the parameters you put in.

Cloud-Network-latency

Ensure Offline-capability, Reliability and Security

Most applications will at some point lose their internet connection and many use cases require offline capability – for example, autonomous vehicles, critical applications e.g. Edge databases enables applications to always work – no matter if the device is connected to the internet or not, providing a seamless user experience. At the same time, Edge databases like RDM ensures that data is reliably stored and never lost with ACID compliant transactions, the gold-standard in data management.

 

AI has found its role in data security and, and it will help organizations deal with the edge computing security challenges. With the ability to identify weaknesses and vulnerabilities in the network, and immediately alert when one is being exploited, AI will make edge computing networks more secure. Combine AI with a fast and secure database system to keep your data safe at all times.

 

5G, Edge Databases and Quantum Computing in Line to Increase AI Efficiency

5G and quantum computing technologies are one step away from coming to our lives. 5G is already available in some parts of the world and the edge databases become more vital.

 

We know that 5g increases network coverage and responsiveness while lowering latency. This will result in an immense amount of data on the edge and to store and process that data securely in a fast edge database will be critical.

 

5G, edge databases and quantum computing will enable AI to be even more efficient in the edge computing environments in terms of delegating tasks, optimizing bandwidth, delivering real-time predictions, and boosting the system’s security.

 

AI will, without any doubt, play a pivotal role in edge computing networks. The complexity of edge computing grows with the number of nodes and the amount of data.

 

Thanks edge databases and AI’s ability to learn and adapt, we will see increased operational reliability of edge computing networks, advanced data processing in real-time, and edge computing more secure. Learn more about Raima’s edge database and download a free trial.