跳到內容

什麼是嵌入式數據庫

韋恩·沃倫(Wayne Warren)通過白板演示了什麼是嵌入式數據庫。 Wayne將討論嵌入式計算機多年來如何發展,從而能夠處理更嚴格的數據管理功能。

 

成績單

嗨,我是Raima的首席技術官Wayne Warren,我想談談嵌入式數據庫。

我們一直必須以兩種不同的方式定義嵌入式數據庫。第一個是應用程序中的嵌入式數據庫。有一個應用程序。您可以鏈接到RDM,運行時庫,庫函數之類的東西,這些函數使您可以從應用程序訪問本地數據庫或遠程數據庫,而不必自己執行所有代碼。這就是我們一直稱為嵌入式數據庫的東西。

第二個定義是在嵌入式計算機上運行的數據庫。此處的配置相同。我們有一個應用程序通過運行時訪問數據庫。我們將其稱為深度嵌入,將其簡單地嵌入其中。嵌入式計算機的功能正在迅速擴展。看著真令人興奮。在過去的10到15年中,它們已經從可以監視傳感器的計算機變為可以執行各種現代技術的功能完善的計算機。而且,現在已有10、15、20年前的成熟技術可以在嵌入式計算機上運行,尤其是在數據庫管理上。因此,這通常不是在嵌入式計算機上完成的事情,但是現在很可能可以在嵌入式計算機上運行嚴肅的數據庫管理系統。因此,自1984年成立以來,我們一直都有這種形式的嵌入式數據庫。

現在,有了運行數據庫的嚴肅的嵌入式計算機,我們就可以以深度嵌入式的形式擁有相同的體系結構。關於簡單的嵌入式體系結構,有趣的是,代碼始終與您自己的應用程序的代碼一起出現。沒有單獨安裝數據庫服務器。不需要數據庫管理員。任何管理都是通過該應用程序完成的。

現在,隨著嵌入式計算機,台式計算機和更大的計算機都運行相同的數據庫管理器軟件,我們有能力使它們相互配合。因此,Windows機器(Linux機器)上的嵌入式計算機可以進行對話和交互。與嵌入式計算機上的數據庫共享數據。我們發現這非常令人興奮,並對未來幾年嵌入式計算機將要發生的發展非常感興趣。

What’s an Embedded Database

Wayne Warren gives a whiteboard presentation on what is an embedded database. Wayne will discuss how embedded computers have evolved over the years to be able to handle more serious data management functionality.

 

Transcripts

Hi, I’m Wayne Warren, the Chief Technology Officer here at Raima, and I’d like to talk about embedded databases.

We have always had to define embedded databases in two different ways. The first one being an embedded database in the application. There is an application. You link in something like RDM, the runtime library, library functions that let you access a local database or a remote database from your application without having to do all that code by yourself. That’s what we’ve always called an Embedded Database.

The second definition would be a database that is running on an embedded computer. Same configuration here. We have an application accessing the database through our runtime. This we’d call deeply embedded, where this is simply embedded. Embedded computers are expanding in their capabilities very rapidly. It’s been exciting to watch. The last 10-15 years, they’ve gone from computers that could monitor sensors to full-blown computers that can do all sorts of modern technology. And, the mature technologies of 10, 15, 20 years ago are now available to run on embedded computers, especially database management. So, that’s not typically a thing done on embedded computers, but now it’s fully possible that serious database management systems can be run on embedded computers. So since we were established in 1984, we have always had this form of embedded database.

Now, with serious embedded computers running databases, we have that same architecture in the deeply embedded form. The interesting thing about the simple embedded architecture here is that the code always accompanies your own application’s code. There’s no separate installation of a database server. There is no database administrator needed for that. Any administration is done through the application.

Now with the embedded computers, desktop computers and bigger all running the same database manager software, we have the ability to have these cooperate. So the embedded computers on a Windows machine, a Linux machine, can be talking and interacting; sharing data with databases on embedded computers. We find this very exciting and are very interested in the developments that are going to happen on embedded computers over the next several years.