跳到內容

關於邊緣計算與David Nguyen的問答

最初由Roberto Zicari在ODBMS.org上發布

 

Q1。什麼是邊緣計算?

邊緣計算使用位於網絡連接邊緣的低功耗設備來執行計算操作和計算。它使計算盡可能地接近正在生成然後使用的數據源。它避免了將所有數據發送回雲數據庫系統的需要。隨著邊緣硬件的功能越來越強大和能源效率越來越高,這些設備將繼續能夠做更多的事情。在某些情況下,假設設備具有足夠快的訪問和存儲數據的方式,那麼額外的計算能力使設備本身可以過濾出不必要的數據或進行其他與ML或AI相關的計算。

Q2。我們為什麼要關心它?

為了從數據中獲得最快的響應,需要在源頭或與之直接關聯的對像上使用它,尤其是在AI是關鍵任務的情況下。我們在無人駕駛中看到了很多用例,其中通過網絡將數據發送到功能強大的雲計算引擎然後再返回的延遲不夠快。在汽車上運行的自動駕駛應用程序必須能夠查看和處理來自多個攝像機,激光雷達,雷達,超聲波的所有傳入數據,並將其與相關的地圖數據和可能的用戶輸入快速結合。該計算必須在汽車本身上進行,因為汽車完全有可能處於沒有小區數據訪問或尚未建立必要的5G網絡的情況。如果沒有5G,則云與汽車之間的通信延遲對於所需的立即響應而言將太大。在醫療保健領域,醫療設備現在都具有處理能力,並且可以通過過濾和處理其生成的信息,使相關的重要信息立即可供設備用戶使用。

Q3。支持邊緣計算需要哪種基礎架構?

邊緣設備必須具有一定的計算能力,並具有存儲數據的支持方式。無論是純RAM還是連接的物理存儲介質。從那裡,從邊緣設備到其他邊緣設備或云後端的連接是理想的。連接不必一定是恆定的。這將使設備能夠利用其正在生成的數據,而且還可以在鏈上發送重要的反饋/信息,以進行進一步的分析或人為響應。

Q4。在基於雲的環境中,所有數據都將流向其中進行處理的雲。在邊緣計算中,只有一小部分數據最終存儲在雲數據中心上。其餘的數據又去哪兒了?

其餘數據將被消耗並用於邊緣設備本身的計算,從而節省了將數據傳輸到雲的需求。隨著數據的傳入,邊緣數據庫將允許將數據存儲起來然後進行過濾。然後可以根據該數據採取措施。從那裡,只有重要信息才能發送到雲數據中心,其餘信息則被丟棄。由於設備的邊緣計算能力,已經採取了必要的措施,因此可以安全地將其丟棄。

Q5。 Raima在Edge計算中扮演什麼角色?

來馬 是性能最高的邊緣數據庫系統。由於Raima僅需要極少量的CPU處理能力和RAM(200kb)來高效,緊湊地存儲數據,同時還允許高效,快速地查找和檢索該數據,因此有助於釋放邊緣計算設備中的處理器和內存。通過釋放CPU和RAM,應用程序開發人員現在可以將邊緣設備的部分計算能力專用於該重要數據。

Qx。您還想添加其他內容嗎?

隨著世界上正在收集大量數據,雲計算將遠遠不足以跟上它。邊緣計算對於充當這些大量傳入數據的第一個過濾器是必需的,這樣只有重要信息才能向上發送。

 

大衛·阮(David Nguyen) 是Raima的工程與質量保證總監。他以質量保證軟件工程師的身份開始了自己的職業生涯,致力於創建和維護全自動測試質量保證框架和完整的每日構建系統。作為工程總監,他領導著以人工智能,自動駕駛和邊緣物聯網為特色的數據庫產品線現代化開發,同時確保客戶體驗盡可能簡單明了且易於使用。 David擁有華盛頓大學的數學和計算機科學學士學位。

Skip to content

On Edge computing.Q&A with David Nguyen

Originally published by Roberto Zicari on ODBMS.org

 

Q1. What is Edge computing?

Edge computing is doing compute actions and calculations with low powered devices sitting on the edge of network connectivity.  It is bringing the compute as close as possible to the source of the data being generated and then consumed. It prevents the need for all data to be sent back up to a cloud database system.  As edge hardware continues to get more powerful and energy efficient, these devices continue to be able to do increasingly more.  In some cases, the extra compute power enables the devices themselves to filter out unnecessary data or do other ML or AI related computations assuming they have a fast enough way to access and store their data.

Q2. Why should we care about it?

To get the most rapid response from data, it needs to be consumed at the source or with something directly connected to it, particularly in cases where AI is mission critical.  We are seeing very many uses cases in Autonomous Driving where the delay of sending the data over a network to a powerful cloud compute engine then back again would not be fast enough.  A self driving application running on a car must be able to see and process all incoming data from multiple cameras, LIDAR, RADAR, ultrasonics and quickly combine that with relevant map data and possible user input.  This compute must occur on the car itself as it is entirely possible for a car to be in a situation with no cell data access or the necessary 5G networks haven’t been setup yet.  Without 5G, the delay between a cloud to car communication would be too great for the required immediate response.  In healthcare, medical devices all have processing power now and can make relevant and important information immediately available to the device user by filtering and processing the information it is generating.

Q3. What kind of infrastructure(s) is(are) need to support Edge computing?

The edge device must be capable of some compute power and have a supporting way of storing data.  Whether it be pure RAM or a connected physical storage medium. From there, a connection from the edge device to either other edge devices or a cloud backend is ideal. The connection does not have to be constant though.  This would enable the device to utilize the data that it is generating but also send important feedback/information up the chain for further analysis or human response.

Q4. In a cloud-based environment, all data goes to the cloud where it is processed. In Edge computing, only a small portion of data ends up on the cloud data centers. Where does it go the rest of the data?

The rest of the data is consumed and used for compute on the edge device itself, saving the need for the data transfer to the cloud.  As the data is incoming, an edge database would allow for the data to be stored then filtered through.  Then actions can be taken based on that data.  From there, only the important information can be sent up to the cloud data center with the rest being discarded.  It can be safely discarded as the necessary actions have already been taken due to the edge compute capability of the devices.

Q5. What is the role that Raima is playing in Edge computing?

Raima is the most performant edge database system.  It helps free up the processor and ram in an edge compute device because Raima only requires very minimal amounts of CPU processing power and RAM (200kb) to efficiently and compactly store data while also allowing for highly efficient and fast lookup and retrieval of that data.  With this freed up CPU and RAM, the application developer can now dedicate part of the edge device’s compute power to act upon that important data.

Qx. Anything else you wish to add?

With the massive amounts of data now being gathered in the world, cloud compute is not going to be nearly enough to keep up with it.  Edge compute is necessary to act as a first filter of these large amounts of incoming data so that only the important information is sent upwards.

 

David Nguyen is the Director of Engineering & QA at Raima.  He started his career as a QA Software Engineer with work on the creation and maintenance of a fully automated testing QA framework and a complete daily build system. As the Director of Engineering, he is leading the development in modernizing the database product line with a feature focus on AI, autonomous driving and edge IoT while ensuring the customer experience is as straightforward and easy to use as possible. David holds a B.S. in both Mathematics and Computer Science from the University of Washington.