跳到內容

使用RDM進行索引- 何時使用哪種索引方法

當前,RDM支持4種不同類型的索引,用戶可以選擇將其與數據庫一起使用。這些類型是:B樹,R樹,哈希和AVL。每個都有自己理想的用例,下面將對其進行詳細說明,但是用戶可以自由地在自己的數據庫中嘗試每種類型並找到理想的性能。 

B樹  

RDM的默認索引方法是b樹。 b樹是一種自平衡樹結構,該結構使數據保持有序排列,以允許搜索和順序訪問。插入,刪除,更新和查找可以以對數標度完成。 b樹是磁盤數據庫的一個很好的解決方案,因為b樹節點的寬度可以使節點樹的深度小於自平衡二叉樹的深度。這樣可以減少搜索和更新樹所需的磁盤訪問量。  

RDM b樹實現是一種非聚集的外部樹,它根據索引定義中指定的列值進行排序。在b樹節點中,對於索引所源自的表中的每一行都有一個條目。節點由其對象ID標識,稱為節點對象的節點ID。這使得使用磁盤上或內存中引擎的數據庫實現更加高效。在這兩個引擎中,將通過b樹存儲在其中的抽屜的id索引查找對節點id的引用。在磁盤引擎中,id索引將包含節點的偏移量和大小。打包文件。在內存引擎中,id索引將包含一個指向該節點的指針。 RDM b樹實現使用32個項目的節點大小。但是,只有正在使用的項目才會存儲在交易文件服務器上。 RDM b樹節點永遠不會更新;而是創建一個新節點,並更新id索引以指向新節點的位置。舊節點將可在以後的事務中重用。  

磁盤上的Raima存儲數據庫

R樹(空間索引)

RDM 14.1添加了專門為地理空間數據設計的索引算法,稱為R-Tree。它是一棵平衡的搜索樹,將其數據組織到頁面中,旨在對附近的對象進行分組,然後將其表示在樹的下一級。當用戶需要在邊界框內快速檢索多維數據時,這是理想的索引類型。  R樹在現實世界中的常見用法是存儲諸如餐廳位置或典型地圖所構成的多邊形之類的空間對象:街道,建築物,湖泊輪廓,海岸線等,然後快速找到查詢答案例如“在我當前位置2公里範圍內查找所有博物館”,“在我位置2公里範圍內檢索所有路段”(以在導航系統中顯示)或“查找最近的加油站”(儘管不上路)帳戶)

R樹索引Raima數據庫管理器

雜湊  

RDM 14.1中的哈希實現使用可擴展哈希算法。可擴展的哈希算法不需要開發人員在設計時就猜測索引的基數。這對於內存存儲引擎非常重要,因為無需為可能永遠不會使用的一組存儲桶保留內存。相反,隨著散列中存儲桶數量的增加,目錄大小將增加。當前實現僅允許使用唯一鍵,並根據鍵控的列對數據進行排序(數據是基於這些列的哈希值進行組織的)。這意味著哈希可以用於查找,但不能用於順序訪問或範圍。

屏幕截圖2019-01-17 at 15.37.26

AVL  

RDM 14.1還添加了一種索引算法,專門用於稱為AVL樹的內存存儲引擎。 AVL是一種自平衡二叉樹,在RDM中是在內部而不是外部實現的。與B樹不同,AVL中沒有數據重複,因為不維護包含索引列副本的外部節點。 AVL是二叉樹,這意味著樹的深度將比B樹的深度大得多。因此,與使用壓縮行格式的基於磁盤的引擎相比,AVL索引更適合使用擴展行格式的內存中存儲引擎。打包行格式的確包含AVL索引的實現,但這主要是為了將內存中的映像持久保存到磁盤而設計的,並不打算在基於磁盤的表中普遍使用。  

AVL可用於b樹索引將用於的任何操作。 AVL支持查找,範圍,掃描以及重複或唯一約束。 SQL優化器將以與B樹相同的方式利用AVL,但基於B樹與AVL之間的實現差異,將使用略有不同的權重。  

護牆板

立即嘗試使用其他索引方法進行RDM

Skip to content

Indexing with RDM - when to use which indexing method

Currently, RDM supports 4 different types of indexes that the user can choose to use with their database. These types are: B-tree, R-Tree, Hash and AVL.  Each has their own ideal use cases and they will be detailed below but the user is free to try out each type on their own database and find the ideal performance. 

B-Tree  

The default indexing method for RDM is the b-tree. A b-tree is a self-balancing tree structure that keeps data ordered to allow for both searching and sequential access. Insertions, deletions, updates, and lookups can be done in a logarithmic scale. A b-tree is a good solution for on-disk databases because the width of the b-tree nodes can keep the depth of the node tree smaller than a self-balancing binary tree.  This results in fewer disk access required for searching and updates to the tree.  

The RDM b-tree implementation is a non-clustered external tree sorted on the column values specified in the index definition. There is an entry in a b-tree node for each row in the table the index is derived from. Nodes are identified by their object id, referred to as a node id for node objects. This allows the implementation to be efficient for databases using either the on-disk or the in-memory engine. In both engines, references to a node id will be looked up via the id index for the drawer the b-tree is stored in. In the on-disk engine, the id-index will contain an offset and size of the node in the pack file. In the in-memory engine, the id index will contain a pointer to the node. The RDM b-tree implementation uses a node size of 32-items; however, only the items that are in-use will be stored on the transaction file server. RDM b-tree nodes are never updated; instead, a new node is created and the id index is updated to point to the location of the new node. The old node will be available for re-use in later transactions.  

Raima-On-Disk-Storage-Database

R-Tree  (Spatial Indexing)

RDM 14.1 has added an index algorithm designed specifically for geospatial data called an R-Tree. It is a balanced search tree that organizes its data into pages and is designed to group nearby objects and then represent that in the next level of the tree.  This is the ideal index type when the users needs quick retrieval of multi-dimensional data within a bounding box.  A common real-world usage for an R-tree might be to store spatial objects such as restaurant locations or the polygons that typical maps are made of: streets, buildings, outlines of lakes, coastlines, etc. and then find answers quickly to queries such as "Find all museums within 2 km of my current location", "retrieve all road segments within 2 km of my location" (to display them in a navigation system) or "find the nearest gas station" (although not taking roads into account)

R-tree index Raima Database Manager

Hash  

The hash implementation in RDM 14.1 uses an extendible hashing algorithm. The extendible hashing algorithm does not require the developer to guess the cardinality of an index during design time. This is important for the in-memory storage engine as there is no need to reserve memory for a set of buckets that may never be used. Instead, as the number of buckets in the hash grow the directory size will increase. The current implementation only allows for unique keys and does order data based on the keyed columns (data is organized based on the hash of those columns). This means that a hash can be used for lookups, but cannot be used for sequential access or ranges.

Screenshot 2019-01-17 at 15.37.26

AVL  

RDM 14.1 also has added an index algorithm specifically for use by the in-memory storage engine called an AVL tree. An AVL is a self-balancing binary tree that in RDM is implemented internally to a row instead of externally. There is no data duplication in the AVL as, unlike in a B-tree, external nodes containing copies of indexed columns are not maintained. An AVL is a binary tree, meaning the depth of the tree will be much larger than that of a B-tree. For this reason, the AVL index is better suited for the in-memory storage engine using the expanded row format than the on-disk-based engine using the packed row format. The packed row format does contain an implementation for the AVL index, but this is included primarily for persisting an in-memory image to disk and not intended for general use in disk-based tables.  

An AVL can be used for any operations that a b-tree index would be used for. The AVL supports lookups, ranges, scanning, and both duplicate or unique constraints. The SQL optimizer will utilize an AVL in the same manner as a B-tree but will use a slightly different weight based on the implementation differences between a B-tree and an AVL.  

Curcuit board

Try RDM with the different indexing methods now