跳到內容

分佈式數據庫的概念和配置

Wikipedia將“分佈式數據”定義為“分佈在多個物理位置的數據集合(例如,數據庫中的數據)”。系統設計人員考慮分佈式數據庫解決方案的原因有很多。以下方案重點介紹了幾種分佈式配置以及配置分佈式數據庫體系結構的好處。

數據備份

最簡單的 複製或鏡像 方案可用於備份有價值的數據。當更改存儲在數據庫的主副本上時,這些相同的更改將轉發到從屬數據庫。對於高可用性(HA)環境, Raima數據庫管理器 (RDM)將與外部HA管理器合作以執行故障轉移或故障回复功能。

主從式分佈式數據庫管理系統

圖1 –數據備份

任何分佈式數據庫管理系統中的考慮因素之一是主服務器和從服務器之間的數據一致性延遲。在評估性能和主數據庫發生災難性故障時應用程序設計者願意丟失的數據量之間的折衷時,這一考慮很重要。

許多分佈式數據庫提供與從屬服務器的同步和異步鏡像模式。在同步模式下,從設備是更新事務的一部分。在異步模式下,更新以延遲的方式到達從站。在後一種模式下,如果主服務器在發布更新之前發生故障,則從服務器仍將具有舊值。主設備和從設備之間的數據不一致窗口取決於主設備和從設備之間的更新傳輸的周期性和吞吐速度。

數據庫分區

將數據放置在需求最大的站點附近會自動提高性能。下圖顯示了基於站點自治的數據庫分區。站點“擁有”的數據將通過複製到第二個站點進行更新和共享。 RDM的“聯合”功能允許將那些單獨的數據庫實例(站點)作為一個數據庫進行查詢,而無需依賴到另一個站點的遠程連接。這是可能的,因為RDM允許對從數據庫實例的只讀訪問。

不同城市的數據庫分區

圖2 –數據庫分區

數據一致性的延遲也適用於這種情況,因為兩個站點都將訪問從數據庫以本地讀取另一個站點的數據。保證本地數據庫最終是一致的,並且數據不一致的窗口受更新從主服務器到達的速度的影響。

資料彙整

在智能設備上捕獲的數據在市場上變得越來越普遍。一個例子是可以間歇性連接的車輛或船隻上的傳感器。 嵌入式設備 能夠將其記錄的數據發送到 移動數據庫 或通過複製或數據鏡像的服務器。設備之間的通信可以通過數據聚合實現,甚至可以導致高效的流程,例如自動維護,在流程發生故障時可以通知您。直接在設備上捕獲數據可提高捕獲性能,因為它消除了與中央存儲庫進行遠程通信的延遲。建立連接後,可以將復制日誌發送到聚合數據庫。

分佈式數據庫配置和控制

圖3 –數據聚合

分佈式數據庫配置和控制

圖4 –配置/控制

配置/控制

除了聚合從這些智能設備捕獲的數據外,控制系統還需要一種安全有效的方法來向這些設備發送配置信息或控制數據。系統開發人員需要確保整個數據傳輸包都到達設備或根本不到達設備。使用複制,可以將數據從集中式源分發到多個設備。

分佈式數據庫的優勢

分佈式數據庫使您能夠備份信息,提高性能和同步數據。儘管這可能非常強大,但是分佈式數據設計可能會很快變得非常複雜。 Raima產品非常適合處理上述以及更多類型的分佈式數據方案。與我們聯繫,我們可以為您提供特定的設計要求。

Skip to content

Distributed Database Concepts and Configuration

Wikipedia defines “distributed data” as “Collections of data (e.g. in a database) distributed across multiple physical locations.” There are many reasons why a system designer would consider a distributed database solution. The following scenarios highlight several distributed configurations and the benefits to configuring a distributed database architecture.

Data Backup

The simplest replication or mirroring scenario can be used to backup valuable data. As changes are stored on the master copy of the database, those same changes are being forwarded to the slave database. For High-Availability (HA) environments, Raima Database Manager (RDM) will cooperate with an external HA manager to perform failover or failback functionality.

Master-slave distributed database management systems

Figure 1 – Data Backup

One of the considerations in any distributed database management system is the latency in data consistency between the master and the slave. This consideration is important in assessing the trade-off between performance and the amount of data the application designer is willing to lose in the event of a catastrophic failure on the master database.

Many distributed databases provide synchronous and asynchronous mirroring modes with the slave. In synchronous mode, the slave is part of the update transaction. In asynchronous mode the updates arrive at the slave in a delayed manner. In the latter mode if the master fails before the updates are shipped, the slave will still have the old values. This window of data inconsistency between the master and the slave depends on the periodicity and throughput speed of the update transfers between the master and the slave.

Database Partitioning

Placing data near the site of greatest demand automatically increases performance. The diagram below shows database partitioning based on site autonomy. The data “owned” by the site is updated and shared through replication to the second site. The RDM “union” feature allows those separate database instances (sites) to be queried as one database without needing depend on remote connections to the other site. This is possible because RDM allows read only access to the slave database instance.

Database Partitioning in different cities

Figure 2 – Database Partitioning

The latency in data consistency is applicable in this scenario as well since both sites will be accessing a slave database for their local reads of the other site’s data. The local database is guaranteed to eventually be consistent and the window of data inconsistency is subject how quickly the updates arrive from the master.

Data Aggregation

Data captured on smart devices is becoming more prevalent in the market. One example would be sensors on vehicles or vessels that can experience intermittent connectivity. Embedded devices are able to send the data that it records to mobile databases or servers through replication or data mirroring. The communication between devices is possible through data aggregation and can even lead to efficient processes such as automated maintenance where you can be notified upon a process failure. Capturing data directly on the device increases the capture performance as it removes the latency of remote communications to a central storage repository. The replication logs can be sent to the aggregation database when connectivity is established.

Distributed database configuration and control

Figure 3 – Data Aggregation

Distributed database configuration and control

Figure 4 – Configuration/Control

Configuration/Control

Besides aggregating data captured from these smart devices, control systems need a safe and efficient method to send configuration information or control data to these devices. The system developer needs to have assurances that the entire data transfer package arrives at the device or not at all. Using replication, data can be distributed to multiple devices from a centralized source.

The Advantages of a Distributed Database

A distributed database gives you the ability to backup information, increase performance and sync data. While this can be very powerful, a distributed data design can become very complex very quickly. The Raima products are well suited to handling distributed data scenarios like those above and more. Contact us and we can help you with your specific design requirements.