為什麼數據管理是海上生產的挑戰

11 月 12

Raima_Database_Manager_Offshore_Production_Picture_1

Raima_Database_Manager_Offshore_Production_Picture_1

這些年來,在海上生產設施中收集的數據量已經大大增加,以至於需要部署“大數據”解決方案以快速有效地從大量的一般數據中提取重要信息。

離岸工作環境總是充滿挑戰。不僅從生產平台,而且從海底泵和管網,甚至是遠在海床下方的“井下”,收集數據的趨勢都在增長。這帶來的物理挑戰是巨大的。

而這只是硬幣的一面。一旦收集了數據,就需要及時將其轉換為消耗性信息,並傳達給其用戶。重要的是,經常有許多用戶,每個用戶都有不同的位置,需求和目標。眾所周知,海上和陸上之間的數據通信非常昂貴,通常需要高延遲衛星頻道。

在海上,工程師們在關註生產率,而經理們則在關注資源管理。在陸上,越來越多的人正在關注煉油,銷售問題,與其他生產基地的協調等。然後,有無數的機構和監管機構,每個機構都有自己的議程和數據要求。

多年來,該行業一直在嘗試開發標準的報告程序。儘管在這個方向上已經取得了進展,但這是一個移動的目標。需求在不斷變化,並且變得越來越苛刻。這種特殊的野獸的本質是多頭的九頭蛇–總是有多種需求,其中許多需求會經常變化,甚至可能彼此矛盾。因此,海上石油和天然氣數據系統將永遠得到發展和完善。

從實際角度看情況,也許最明顯的挑戰是以適合其需求的格式快速向所有最終用戶提供相關數據。另一個問題是數據量在不斷增加,而截止日期通常會越來越緊。位於海上設施內的嵌入式計算機可能功能強大,可以在將數據發送到陸上播放器之前對其進行過濾和簡化。

不可避免的是,數據系統的敏捷性,速度和準確性對於有效的決策至關重要。需要在所有人員中培養數據質量意識,並且需要實施數據質量管理(DQM)系統。

在此之後,需要建立清晰的過程和協議來管理與數據相關的問題,包括迅速糾正數據錯誤的問題。

無疑,離岸生產行業需要盡可能多地自動化其數據處理系統,以充分利用現代計算機的強大功能和已建立的大數據技術。但是,這不僅僅涉及技術解決方案:成功的數據和信息管理系統首先需要明確的方向和所有權。儘管許多日常工作將在運營級別上進行,但是這需要嵌入到高級管理人員的思想中。需要在所有利益相關者(包括生產工程師,技術和商業管理,董事,監管人員和適當的政府機構)之間制定信息要求和標準化工作慣例。

不斷開髮用於海上生產的數據管理系統是一個很大的問題,但這是不容忽視的。

點擊 這裡 找出Raima RDM嵌入式數據庫如何幫助苛刻的離岸應用。

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.

Skip to content

Raima_Database_Manager_Offshore_Production_Picture_1

The amount of data being collected in offshore production facilities has grown massively over the years to the point where ‘big data’ solutions need to be deployed in order to quickly and efficiently extract the important information from the mass of general data.

The offshore working environment is always challenging. There is a growing trend to collect data not just from the production platforms, but from the subsea pump and pipe network, and even ‘downhole’, far beneath the seabed. The physical challenges this presents are enormous.

And this is only one side of the coin. Once the data has been collected it needs to be converted into consumable information in a timely manner and communicated to its users. Significantly, there are often many users, each with different locations, requirements and objectives.  Data communications between offshore and onshore is notoriously expensive, usually requiring high-latency satellite channels.

Offshore, engineers are looking at production rates, while managers are looking at resource management. Onshore, more people are looking at refining, sales issues, coordination with other production sites, etc. Then there are a myriad of agencies and regulatory bodies, each with their own agendas and data requirements.

For many years the industry has been trying to develop standard reporting procedures. While there has been progress in this direction, it is a moving target. The requirements are constantly changing and becoming more demanding. The nature of this particular beast is a many-headed hydra – there will always be multiple requirements, a lot of which will change frequently and may even appear contradictory to one another. Therefore, offshore oil and gas data systems will be forever developing and improving.

Looking at the situation from a practical perspective, perhaps the most obvious challenge is to provide all the end-users with relevant data quickly and in a format suitable to their needs. Another issue is that the volume of data is constantly increasing, while deadlines usually become tighter. Embedded computers located within offshore facilities can be quite powerful, making it possible to filter and simplify massive amounts of data before sending it to the onshore players.

Inevitably then, there comes a point when agility, speed and accuracy of the data system becomes crucial to effective decision-making. Data quality awareness needs to be developed within all personnel and a data quality management (DQM) system needs to be implemented.

Following on from this, clear procedures and protocols need to be established to manage data-related issues as they arise, including ones that quickly correct data errors.

Undoubtedly there is a need for the offshore production industries to automate as many of their data handling systems as possible, to use the massive power of modern computers and established big data techniques to the full. However, it is not solely about technical solutions: successful data and information management systems first need clear direction and ownership. This needs to be embedded into senior management thinking, even though much of the day-to-day work will be carried out at operational levels. Information requirements and standardised work practices need to be worked out between all stakeholders including production engineers, technical and commercial management, directors, regulators and appropriate governmental agencies.

Constantly redeveloping data management systems for offshore production is a big ask, but one that cannot be shirked.

Click here to find out how Raima RDM Embedded database helped a demanding offshore application.