更多智能SQL查詢執行選擇

9 月 24

橙色和藍色代碼行

RDM SQL利用一種基於成本的優化查詢的方法,在該方法中,查詢優化器將分析數據使用情況信息,以確定執行查詢的最快方式。在RDM 11中,SQL可用的信息僅限於引用表中的行數,以及用戶通過create table語句中使用的可選的不同值和範圍列聲明子句提供的任何其他信息。

對於基本查詢,這不會造成任何問題,因為這些執行選項選擇很簡單。但是對於更複雜的查詢,其中涉及從滿足以下條件的多個表中檢索數據: 在哪裡 子句由多個條件表達式組成,這些限制可能會導致明顯的性能損失。

RDM 12.0對SQL做出良好執行計劃選擇的能力進行了重大改進,該選擇將產生執行得更快的查詢。一個新的聲明, 更新統計 (統計資料),現在可以在已填充的數據庫上執行,該數據庫將收集數據庫中每個表的每一列的數據分佈統計信息。然後,SQL優化器將使用此數據來更好地預測與可用於訪問查詢中引用的每個表的行的每種可能方法相關的訪問成本。

用戶通過以下方式中的可選子句控制要採樣的數據量和要存儲的分佈數據的範圍。 更新統計 陳述。數據庫越大,花費的時間越長 更新統計 收集分發數據。由於用戶可以通過指定要採樣的數據庫的百分比來控制讀取的數據量,因此可以緩解這種情況。此外,數據收集是多線程的,並且由 更新統計 子句,或者默認情況下設置為計算機上的核心CPU數量。

還提供了指定條件的能力,該條件將導致系統自動運行 更新 統計資料 根據自上次運行以來數據庫已更改的數量。因此,您可能只需要手動運行 更新統計 一次,系統將根據您在第一次運行中指定的更改參數自動控制其他運行。

存儲過程可以包含一個或多個 選擇 使用當時可用的統計信息進行編譯和優化的語句 建立程序 被執行了。存儲過程允許使用預編譯的SQL語句,因此不必在應用程序執行時產生編譯費用。 RDM 12 SQL已添加 自動編譯 條款 建立程序 語句,如果發生以下情況,該語句將導致SQL自動重新編譯存儲過程 更新統計 自上次執行該過程以來一直運行。當然,這將為該特定執行增加執行時間的重新編譯成本,但是在許多情況下,由於數據分佈統計信息的更改以及對優化程序的執行計劃產生積極影響,所有後續執行都會更快選擇。

收集的統計信息存儲在名為的文件中 數據庫名稱.sts與數據庫文件和目錄文件位於TFS的同一目錄中(數據庫名稱。貓)。

提供了四個新的系統目錄文件,可以查詢這些文件,以查看收集的統計信息。例如,表sys$dbstats包含每個打開的數據庫的一行,在該數據庫上 更新統計 已執行。表格中的信息包括統計文件版本號,日期 更新統計 上次運行的時間 更新統計,存儲在數據庫中的總行數以及每個 更新統計 控制參數。其他表包括sys$tabstats,sys$colstats和sys$colhisto。最後一張表包含數據庫中各列收集的分發統計信息。使用此信息以及對優化器的工作方式的理解,如“RDM SQL如何處理查詢”可以幫助您分析特定的SQL查詢。

借助RDM 12 SQL中的數據分佈統計信息,可以在RDM 12 SQL應用程序中實現基於成本的複雜查詢優化的全部好處。

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.

More Intelligent SQL Query Execution Choices

September 24

RDM SQL utilizes a cost-based method of optimizing a query in which data usage information is analyzed by the query optimizer in order to determine the fastest way to execute a query. In RDM 11, the information available to SQL was limited to the number of rows in the referenced tables plus any additional information provided by the user through the optional distinct values and range column declaration clauses used in the create table statement.

For basic queries, this does not cause any problem because those execution option choices are simple. But for more complex queries that involve retrieving data from multiple tables that satisfy a where clause comprised of multiple conditional expressions, those limitations could result in a noticeable performance penalty.

A significant improvement has been made in RDM 12.0 to SQL’s ability to make good execution plan choices that will produce queries that execute faster. A new statement, update statistics (stats), can now be executed on a populated database that will collect data distribution statistics for each column of each table in the database. This data will then be used by the SQL optimizer to better predict the access costs associated with each possible method available to access the rows of each table referenced in the query.

The amount of data to be sampled and the extent of the distribution data to be stored is controlled by the user through optional clauses in the update stats statement. The larger the database, the longer it may take update stats to collect the distribution data. This is mitigated as the user can control the amount of data read by specifying a percentage of the database to be sampled. Moreover, the data collection is multi-threaded with the number of threads used specified by an update stats clause or, by default, set to the number of core CPUs on the computer.

Also provided is the ability to specify a condition which will cause the system to automatically run update stats based on how much the database has changed since the last run. So, you may only have to manually run update stats once and the system will automatically control additional runs based on the change parameters you specified on that first run.

Stored procedures can contain one or more select statements that were compiled and optimized using the statistics that were available at the time the create procedure was executed. Stored procedures allows the use of pre-compiled SQL statements so that the compilation cost does not have to be incurred at application execution time. RDM 12 SQL has added the auto compile clause to the create procedure statement that will cause SQL to automatically recompile the stored procedure in the event that an update stats has been run since the last time the procedure was executed.  Of course, this will add the re-compilation cost to the execution time for that particular execution but in many cases, all subsequent executions will be faster because of the changes in the data distribution statistics and the positive effect that has on the optimizer’s execution plan choice.

The collected statistics are stored in a file named dbname.sts in the same directory on the TFS as the database files and the catalog file (dbname.cat).

Four new system catalog files are provided that can be queried in order to view the collected statistics. For example, table sys$dbstats contains one row for each open database on which an update stats has been executed. Information in the table includes a stats file version number, the date when update stats was last run, the execution time for the update stats, the total number of rows stored in the database, along with the values of each of the update stats control parameters.  Other tables include sys$tabstats, sys$colstats, and sys$colhisto. This last table contains the collected distribution stats for each column in the database.  Use of this information along with an understanding of how the optimizer works as described in “How Queries are Processed by RDM SQL” can help you analyze particular SQL queries.

With the availability of data distribution statistics in RDM 12 SQL, the full benefits of sophisticated cost-based query optimization can be realized in RDM 12 SQL applications.

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.