跳到內容

通過並行處理實現高吞吐量

擴大系統性能通常需要添加計算機硬件。目標(尤其是使用數據庫之類的共享資源時)的目標是添加可以並行運行的組件(硬件和軟件)。如果將系統分成相互阻塞或互相干擾的部分,則不會獲得任何收益。並行性是關鍵,如果並行單元不妨礙其他單元,則可以提高總吞吐量。
 

這是一種用於硬件和軟件配置的建議體系結構,以在使用RDM數據庫引擎時允許最大並行度。

高通量

 

硬件

建議的體系結構為每個磁盤驅動器包含一個單獨的磁盤控制器。為什麼?因為即使有多個CPU內核在不同的磁盤文件上執行多個獨立的進程,單個磁盤控制器也最終會序列化磁盤訪問,從而造成瓶頸。因此,該計算機是一台多核計算機,每個磁盤控制器/驅動器具有2個核。對於此示例,具有4個控制器/驅動器的8個內核。

軟件

給定此硬件配置,需要為並行操作設計軟件配置。並行軟件操作的必要組成部分是分區的數據庫,這樣每個分區都可以獨立於其他分區進行更新。

 

上圖中的應用程序將在4個不同的“任務”結構中打開4個不同的數據庫,然後基於主鍵確定記錄所屬的數據庫。它將在此處找到它或在其中創建它。閱讀是不同的。在一個“任務”結構中,應使用數據庫聯合功能在一個調用中打開所有4個數據庫,並且應使用MVCC(多版本並發控制)只讀事務在沒有鎖定的情況下進行讀取。

 

還要注意,CPU內核被描繪為好像已分配給應用程序進程,但實際情況是它們通常以SMP的形式運行,因此將安排它們執行可用的進程。在這種情況下,可能全部是4個TFS和最多4個應用程序進程。

 

使用類似於該RDM的體系結構,開發人員可以設計應用程序以利用現代硬件和操作系統。通過在數據引擎中提供支持並行性的功能,RDM允許開發人員創建可以隨所提供的硬件進行擴展的應用程序。

立即嘗試配置

High Throughput via Paralleism

Scaling up the performance of a system typically involves adding computer hardware. The goal, especially with a shared resource like a database, is to add pieces (both hardware and software) that can run in parallel. If a system is divided up into pieces that block or interfere with each other nothing is gained. Parallelism is the key, if parallel units do not impede others then total throughput can be increased.
 

Here is a proposed architecture for a hardware and software configuration to allow maximum parallelism when using the RDM database engine.

High Throughput

 

Hardware

The architecture recommended contains a separate disk controller for every disk drive. Why? Because even with multiple CPU cores executing multiple independent processes on different disk files, a single disk controller will end up serializing the disk access, creating a bottleneck. So the computer is a multi-core computer with 2 cores for every disk controller/drive. For this example, 8 cores with 4 controllers/drives.

Software

Given this hardware configuration, a software configuration needs to be designed for parallel operation. A necessary ingredient for parallel software operation is a database that is partitioned such that each partition can be updated independently from the other partitions.

 

The applications in the figure above will open 4 different databases within 4 different “task” structures and then decide, based on a primary key, which database a record belongs in. It will either find it there or create it there. Reading is different. Within one “task” structure, all 4 databases should be opened in one call using the database union feature, and reading should be done without locks by using MVCC (Multi-Version Concurrency Control) read-only-transactions.

 

Note also that CPU cores are depicted as though they are assigned to application processes, but the reality is that they are normally operating as SMP, so they will be scheduled to execute the processes that are available. In this case, it will potentially be all 4 TFSs and up to 4 application processes.

 

Using an architecture similar to this RDM developers can design applications to take advantage of modern hardware and operating systems.  By providing features that support parallelism within the data engine RDM allows developers to create applications that can scale with the hardware provided.

Try the configuration now