使用大數據控制流行病

6 月 11

RaimaDMA051-大數據是否有可能預測大流行

隨著旅行和國際貿易的增長,全球大流行的可能性可能會增加。但是,可以通過使用在全球範圍內跟踪關鍵指標的數據庫來搶占它們。

RaimaDMA051-大數據是否有可能預測大流行

最近的研究表明,在1600年代毀滅了歐洲的“黑死病”或“瘟疫”實際上始於亞洲,是沙鼠所攜帶的。

如今,借助無縫,高效的現代全球通信,大範圍流行病的威脅已成為引起全球範圍廣泛關注的根源。在最近的幾十年中,我們已經看到像H1N1和艾滋病這樣的疾病可以跨邊界和海洋傳播的速度有多快。

直到最近,對此類疾病的控制仍必須是反應性的而不是前攝性的。但是現在,隨著長途旅行和貨運的增加,再加上微生物對抗生素的耐藥性的增強,這已不再是足夠的反應。

那麼大數據是否有可能預測大流行,從而使中部和醫療界有時間準備適當的應對措施?

需要從許多來源收集和整理數據。其中大部分可能來自全球一般病歷,因此可以發現個別爆發;如果將一個案例變成幾個案例,這可能是最早出現廣泛問題的跡象。如果更多案件開始出現,則可以將它們的位置與貿易路線和水道交叉引用。進一步的分析和交叉引用可能包括監視已知攜帶某些疾病的動物種群,關注最有可能進行病毒轉移的關鍵地點網絡,甚至監視處方藥和非處方藥的購買。

實際上,這種工作已經非常先進,並且已經取得了許多成功。

顯然,在這樣的監視系統中設置的數據將非常大,並且會不斷增長。由於要在很長一段時間內從眾多來源收集數據,因此數據庫管理系統的選擇對於成功至關重要。理想情況下,該技術應易於使用。它也應該是靈活的,以便可以隨著時間的推移進行調整和升級;不應被某個賣方的產品鎖定(賣方可能會停止交易,中止產品或抬高價格)。諸如Raima的RDM之類的數據庫管理系統可以為此類應用程序提供完美的解決方案。就靈活性而言,它可以處理API(應用程序接口),ODBC(開放數據庫連接),JDBC(Java數據庫連接)等,並且其源代碼可供用戶使用,RDM實際上是一種開源產品。

自20年前首次發布以來,RDM已在許多項目(無論大小)中均得到了充分的證明,並且在國防,商業,醫療保健,教育,研究,製圖等許多領域的用戶中都廣受歡迎。

作為世界領先的數據庫管理系統之一,RDM擁有良好的記錄。它通常用於大數據項目,但同樣適用於各種應用程序。

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.

Controlling pandemics using big data

June 11

RaimaDMA051 - Does Big Data have the potential to predict pandemics

The possibility of worldwide pandemics is likely to increase as travel and international trade grow. But they can be preempted through the use of databases that track key indicators on a global basis.

RaimaDMA051 - Does Big Data have the potential to predict pandemics

Recent research has suggested that the Black Death or Plague that devastated Europe in the 1600s actually started in Asia and was carried by gerbils.

Now, with seamless and efficient modern global communications, the threat of widespread pandemics has become a source of considerable worldwide concern. In recent decades we have seen how quickly diseases like H1N1 and Aids can spread across borders and oceans.

Until fairly recently, control of such diseases had to be reactive rather than proactive. But now with much more long-distance travel and freighting, coupled with increasing microbial resistant to antibiotics, this is no longer an adequate response.

So does big data have the potential to predict pandemics, thus giving the medial and healthcare communities have time to prepare an appropriate response?

There would be a need to collect and collate data from many sources. The bulk of this would probably be from global general medical records, so that individual outbreaks could be spotted; if a single case grew into a cluster of several, this could be the earliest possible indication of the beginnings of a widespread problem. If more cases began to appear, their location could be cross-referenced with trade routes and water courses. Further analyses and cross-referencing may include monitoring the populations of animals known to carry certain diseases, focusing on a network of key locations where viral transfer may be most likely, and even monitoring the purchase of prescription and non-prescription pharmaceuticals.

In fact this sort of work is already well-advanced and many successes have been claimed.

Obviously, the data set in such a monitoring system is going to be very, very large and growing constantly. With data being collected from so many sources over very long periods of time, the choice of database management system could be critical to success. Ideally, the technology should be easy to use. It should also be flexible, so that it can be adapted and upgraded over time; there should be no possibility of becoming locked into one vendor’s product (the vendor may cease trading, discontinue the product, or drive up prices). Database management systems like Raima’s RDM may offer the perfect solution for such applications. In terms of flexibility, it can handle APIs (application program interfaces), ODBC (Open Database Connectivity), JDBC (Java Database Connectivity) etc., and with its source code made available to users, RDM is effectively an open source product.

RDM has been well-proven on many projects – large and small – since its original launch 20 years ago and is popular with users across many sectors including defence, business, healthcare, education, research, cartography, etc.

RDM has a track record as one of the world’s leading database management systems. It is often used on big data projects, but is equally at home on a great range of applications.

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.