配置和策略管理數據庫–案例研究

4 月 22

Raima徽標在灰色的背景上

我很高興本月採訪了一個快樂的長期客戶,不幸的是,該客戶不能讓我使用他的公司名稱。這是他多年來如何使用Raima Database Manager(RDM)以及與Raima的關係的摘要。

為什麼選擇Raima的數據庫管理器?

該客戶為其公司開發了網絡和電信應用程序,並將其分發到數百個網點。最初選擇RDM是因為它是嵌入式的,但是隨著應用程序的發展,該產品已經發展了15年以上,管理該客戶的數據庫(每次安裝最多10,000個用戶配置文件)。因為RDM是嵌入式的,所以它是作為應用程序系統的一部分交付和安裝的。最終用戶在他們正在使用的程序中受益於DBMS,但沒有管理數據庫的職責。該程序主要用於策略管理,可與100個或更多的用戶群(最多10,000個用戶)一起使用。在1990年代,當兩種解決方案最初在不同的功能領域中實現時,RDM被選為前進的數據庫管理贏家:一個領域使用Btrieve,一個領域使用RDM。從那以後,從RDM版本4.5到7.2到9.1到11.0,沒有數據庫損壞的報告,只有一個呼叫Raima尋求技術支持。

該數據庫的設計大量使用了索引和BLOB。該應用程序使用C ++進行編碼,並使用傳統的低級核心API(我們稱為“ d_” API)。核心API速度很快,該應用程序每秒可以在數據庫上支持多達10,000個查詢。在此應用程序的大型安裝中,多個基於Linux的服務器共享負載。數據庫的更新將遷移到所有協調的服務器,以促進更大的擴展性能和高可用性。

與Raima一起前進

每個新版本的軟件應用程序都為其實現打開了新的選擇。技術正在高速發展,並且對僅五年前就足夠的應用提出了新的要求。這也是配置和策略管理應用程序的情況。性能一直是一個驅動因素,但今天的最終用戶希望添加自己的自定義查詢以進行報告或與其他系統的互連。他們還希望及時對應用程序進行新的增強。隨著RDM的SQL實現現已可用(從版本10.1開始),該數據庫的下一代將不再管理BLOB,但這些BLOB的內容將成為SQL表。應用程序將不再解釋BLOB的內容-SQL將提供其完整的分析查詢範圍。

在RDM的下一個版本中,甚至可以通過應用程序傳播更多的改進。通過添加SQL / PL,SQL成為開發人員和最終用戶的強大自定義語言。其他增強功能(例如優化的內存解決方案和壓縮的便攜式數據庫格式)擴展了所有應用程序的性能和平台範圍。

這對您有何影響

這是一個成功的應用程序,沒有使用壽命終止。如果做出其他選擇,那會是真的嗎?也許可以,但是RDM的早期選擇給它帶來了一些優勢。首先,可靠性。 RDM成為其係統中不需要關注的組件而脫穎而出。第二,價格。 RDM是一種商業產品,但是可以說,這種長期關係的總擁有成本非常低。免費或開源軟件需要內部專業知識或外部支持。在商業應用中使用時,通常需要獲得許可。第三,表現。通過支持大量執行頻繁查詢的用戶,該系統展示了低延遲,高查詢率,可以在大型安裝中擴大規模。

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.

Configuration and Policy Management Database – Case Study

April 22

Raima logo on grey background

I had the pleasure of interviewing a happy long-term customer this month, who unfortunately cannot allow me to use his company name. This is a summary of how he has been using Raima Database Manager (RDM) and his relationship with Raima over the years.

Why Raima’s Database Manager?

This customer develops a Networking and Telecom application for his company and distributes it to hundreds of outlets. RDM was initially chosen because it was embedded, but the product has grown with the application over a span of more than 15 years, managing this customer’s database of up to 10,000 user profiles per installation. Because it is embedded, RDM is delivered and installed as a part of the application system. End-users have the benefit of a DBMS in the program they are using, but none of the responsibilities of administering a database. The program is used primarily for policy management, working with a user base of 100 or more, up to 10,000 users. In the 1990’s, RDM was chosen as the going-forward database management winner when two solutions had been initially implemented in different areas of functionality: one area with Btrieve, one with RDM. Since then, moving from RDM version 4.5 to 7.2 to 9.1 to 11.0, there have been no reports of corrupted databases and only one call to Raima for technical support.

The design of this database makes heavy use of indexing and BLOBs. The application is coded in C++ and uses the traditional low-level core API (what we call the “d_” API). The core API is fast, and the application can support as many as 10,000 queries per second on the database. In the larger installations of this application, multiple Linux-based servers share the load. Updates to the database are migrated to all of the coordinated servers, facilitating greater scale-up performance and high availability.

Moving Forward with Raima

Each new release of a software application opens up new choices for its implementation. Technology is advancing at a high rate and forcing new requirements on applications that were adequate only five years ago. This is the situation for the Configuration and Policy Management application as well. Performance continues to be a driving factor as it always has been, but today’s end-users expect to add their own customized queries for reporting, or interconnections to other system. They also expect new enhancements to the application to be implemented in a timely way. With RDM’s implementation of SQL now available (since version 10.1), the next generation of this database will no longer manage BLOBs, but the contents of those BLOBs will become SQL tables. No longer will the application interpret the contents of the BLOBs – SQL will provide its full range of analytical queries.

With RDM’s next release, even more improvements can propagate up through the application. With the addition of SQL/PL, SQL becomes a powerful customization language for both developers and end-users. Other enhancements, like an optimized in-memory solution and a compressed, portable database format expand the performance and platform range for all applications.

How This Affects You

This has been a successful application and has no end-of-life in view. Would that be true if another choice had been made? Perhaps, but the early choice of RDM gave it some advantages. First, reliability. RDM stood out as a component in his system that didn’t need attention. Second, price. RDM is a commercial product, but it can be argued that the total-cost-of-ownership over this long-term relationship has been very low. Free or Open Source software requires either in-house expertise or external support. It often requires licensing when used in commercial applications. Third, performance. With support for a high number of users performing frequent queries, this system has demonstrated a low-latency, high query rate that can be scaled up in the larger installations.

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.