2種大小敏感型數據庫的節省空間技術

4 月 30

Raima徽標在灰色的背景上

您可以對DDL進行以下兩個簡單但不明顯的更改,以減小數據庫文件的大小。關於RDM內部的一些有趣的解釋說明了它為什麼起作用,並允許您在所有數據庫設計中做出更好的DDL決策。

考慮以下SQL DDL:

創建數據庫EventTrace
創建圓表TraceTab(
     deviceId smallint,
     低點實數,
     maxLevel雙倍
)maxrows = 8000

該行的磁盤上(或內存中)大小為32個字節。看起來應該是14個字節,其中2個用於smallint,4個用於實數,8個用於雙精度。多餘的18個字節從何而來?如果您的數據庫對大小敏感,那麼最好在此DBMS內部學習一小節課。

RDM中的每一行/記錄都有一個標頭,該標頭由記錄類型(2個字節)和它自己的數據庫地址(8個字節)組成。在標題之後,行數據以C對齊的佈局顯示。這意味著,在大多數編譯器上,每個元素都將對齊,以使其位於N字節邊界上,其中N是元素的大小。也就是說,一個8字節的double將從一個8字節的邊界開始,即4 on 4和2 on2。為上述DDL定義的結構必須在smallint和real之間進行填充,並在real和the之間進行填充。兩倍,每行花費2 + 4 = 6個填充字節。

第一種技術:按大小從大到小排列列/字段定義。

我們的默認“數據庫地址”(指向記錄槽的內部指針)為8個字節(如上所述),一個文件中最多允許281萬億行。您可以覆蓋默認值,並使用4字節的數據庫地址,該地址最多允許1670萬條記錄,通常綽綽有餘。為此,請在數據庫名稱後說“ dba4”。現在,標頭是6個字節而不是10個字節,並且每行還保存了4個字節。標頭在DBMS中很重要,因為它可用於一致性/損壞檢查。

第二種方法:當您知道任何一張表中的行數不會超過1670萬時,請使用“ dba4”。

僅供參考,每行有一個額外的字節用於存儲NULL標誌,每列一位。如果列數超過8,將使用第二個字節,依此類推。

現在,DDL如下所示:

創建數據庫EventTrace dba4
創建圓表TraceTab(
     maxLevel雙倍,
     低點實數,
     deviceId smallint
)maxrows = 8000


因此,我們重新定義但等效的行的總長度為:

2記錄類型
4數據庫地址
8第一欄(maxLevel)
4秒欄(lowPoint)
2第三列(deviceId)
1個空列位

每行21個總字節

進一步的FYI –當將行放入固定長度的頁槽中時,它們總是進入偶數地址。這大大減少了運行時庫所需的memcpy操作數。因此,該行的大小為22個字節,其中46個將適合一個1024字節的頁面。

以上所有內容均適用於非SQL數據庫定義,但有一個例外–沒有NULL標誌字節。 DDL的語法當然不同,但是含義相同。

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.

2 Space-Saving Techniques For Size-Sensitive Databases

April 30

Raima logo on grey background

Here are two easy but non-obvious changes you can make to your DDL to decrease the size of your database files. Some interesting explanations of the internals of RDM show why this works, and allow you to make better DDL decisions in all of your database designs.

Consider the following SQL DDL:

create database EventTrace
create circular table TraceTab(
     deviceId smallint,
     lowPoint real,
     maxLevel double
) maxrows=8000

The on-disk (or in-memory) size for this row is 32 bytes. It looks like it should be 14 bytes, with 2 for the smallint, 4 for the real, and 8 for the double. Where do the extra 18 bytes come from? If your database is size-sensitive, it may be good to have a short lesson on the internals of this DBMS.

Every row/record in RDM has a header consisting of the record type (2 bytes) and its own database address (8 bytes). Following the header, the row data appears in an C-aligned layout. This means, on most compilers, that each element will be aligned so that it is on an N-byte boundary, where N is the size of the element. That is, an 8-byte double will begin on an 8-byte boundary, 4 on 4, and 2 on 2. The structure defined for the above DDL must be padded between the smallint and the real, and again between the real and the double, costing 2+4=6 padding bytes for each row.

First technique: arrange the column/field definitions by size, largest to smallest.

Our default “database address” (internal pointer to record slot) is 8 bytes (as mentioned above), allowing up to 281 trillion rows in one file. You can override the default and use a 4-byte database address, which allows up to 16.7 million records, which is usually more than enough. To do this, say “dba4” following the database name. Now the header is 6 bytes rather than 10, and you have saved another 4 bytes per row. The header is important in a DBMS, because it can be used for consistency/corruption checking.

Second technique: Use “dba4” when you know that you will not have more than 16.7 million rows in any one table.

FYI, each row has one additional byte used to store NULL flags, one bit for each column. If you have more than 8 columns, a second byte will be used, etc.

Now the DDL looks like this:

create database EventTrace dba4
create circular table TraceTab(
     maxLevel double,
     lowPoint real,
     deviceId smallint
) maxrows=8000


So the total length of our redefined, but equivalent row is:

2              record type
4              database address
8              first column (maxLevel)
4              second column (lowPoint)
2              third column (deviceId)
1              null-column bits

21           total bytes/row

One more FYI – when rows are placed into fixed-length page slots, they always go into even addresses. This reduces the number of memcpy operations needed by the runtime library substantially. So this row’s size is 22 bytes, and 46 of them will fit onto one 1024-byte page.

All of the above applies to a non-SQL database definition, with one exception – there is no NULL flags byte. The syntax of the DDL is different, of course, but means the same thing.

Get notified about new RDM updates

Be the first to know about new Raima Database Manager updates when they go live, use cases, industry trends and more.