跳到內容

再次中途校正

Raima Inc.的創始人之一Wayne Warren經歷了這些年來的變化。以。。。開始 db_VISTA 最後是對RDM Embedded的改進,包括多核和 內存數據庫 改進。

1991年,Raima出售了一個可鏈接的C庫,名為 db_VISTA,對於需要共享數據庫的小型工作組來說效果很好,但是總體而言,數據庫行業對客戶端/服務器體系結構更感興趣。

以DB_VISTA開頭

因此,我們從db_VISTA開始,創建了一個名為Velocis的數據庫服務器。我們有兩種產品,針對兩種類型的應用程序。這是第一次重大的中段矯正。從技術上講,它涉及到根本的體系結構更改。 db VISTA直接從每個應用程序執行磁盤I / O,並保留數據庫頁面的本地緩存。 Velocis僅從服務器執行磁盤I / O,並且僅保留一個集中式緩存。

2010年的DB_VISTA

快進到2010。現在調用db_VISTA 嵌入式RDM,Velocis現在稱為 RDM服務器,並且它們都得到了積極的使用和支持。該公司經歷了多次所有權變更,但是這些產品在過去的20年中一直保持著生存能力。 Raima現在是Birdstep Technology的子公司。最初的開發人員(Randy Merilatt和我,Wayne Warren)在嘗試了一段時間後又回來了,其他長期的開發人員也倖免於難。這些產品增加了一些新功能,可以在新平台上運行,並且更加可靠。

嵌入式數據庫行業的變化

但是行業發生了變化,因此有必要進行其他中期修正。陳述一些明顯的變化:

  • 內存大而便宜
  • 磁盤空間龐大且便宜
  • 聯網快速而普遍,並且…
  • 多核 多處理器系統很常見。

事實證明,旨在優化內存和磁盤以及單個CPU的數據庫系統無法按預期擴展。這不好,但是整個行業都在意識到這一點。多核擴展需要使每個核變得鬆散的架構,而不是使每個核相互干擾。在另一篇文章中,我將更多地討論多核感知架構。

這是第二次主要的中段校正,再次從較小的產品開始, 嵌入式RDM,並將作為RDM Embedded的下一個版本發布。它將適用於當前使用RDM Embedded的應用程序,但是基礎架構已進行了更改以利用上述所有優勢–使用 內存數據庫 為了獲得速度,請使用網絡來實現並行性,並對數據庫訪問進行編程以允許多個內核/處理器並行運行。

事實證明,通過執行上述所有操作,該產品還變得更易於使用和部署,並且可以更靈活地一起使用多台計算機。您只要開始使用它,它就可以開始工作(任何老式RDM Embedded程序員都將喜歡它)。

Skip to content

Wayne Warren, one of the founders of Raima Inc., goes through the changes over the years. Beginning with db_VISTA and ending with improvements to RDM Embedded, including multi-core and in-memory database improvements.

In 1991, Raima sold a linkable C library called db_VISTA, which worked fine for small work-groups that needed to share a database, but the database industry in general was more interested in the client/server architecture.

Beginning with DB_VISTA

So, we started with db_VISTA and created a database server which was named Velocis. We had two products, aimed at two types of applications. This was the first major mid-course correction. Technically, it involved a fundamental architectural change. db VISTA performs disk I/O directly from each application program, keeping a local cache of database pages. Velocis performs disk I/O only from the server, and keeps only one centralized cache.

DB_VISTA in 2010

Fast-forward to 2010. db_VISTA is now called RDM Embedded, Velocis is now called RDM Server, and they are both actively used and supported. The company has gone through multiple ownership changes, but the products have remained viable for over 20 years. Raima is now a division of Birdstep Technology. The original developers (Randy Merilatt and me, Wayne Warren) are back after trying other things for a while, and other long-term developers have survived all the changes. The products have had several new features added, run on new platforms, and are much more reliable.

Changes in the Embedded Database Industry

But the industry has changed, and another mid-course correction was necessary. To state some of the obvious changes:

  • Memory is massive and cheap
  • Disk space is massive and cheap
  • Networking is fast and pervasive, and…
  • Multi-core and multiprocessor systems are common.

It turns out that a database system that was architected to optimize memory and disk and a single CPU does not scale up as one would expect it to. This is not good, but it is something that is being realized throughout the industry. Multi-core scaling requires an architecture that turns each core loose, rather than each core interfering with the others. I’ll talk more about a multi-core-aware architecture in another post.

This second major mid-course correction started again from the smaller product, RDM Embedded, and will be released as the next version of RDM Embedded. It will work for the applications currently using RDM Embedded, but the underlying architecture has changed to take advantage of all of the above – use an in-memory database to obtain speed, use networking to achieve parallelism, and program the database access to allow multiple cores/processors to run in parallel.

It turns out that by doing all of the above, the product also became simpler to use and deploy, and more flexible in using multiple computers together. You just start using it, and it just starts working (any of you old-school RDM Embedded programmers will love this).

Leave a Comment